Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

48 guests

Welcome to our newest member, 8harperc7123tc6

Supreme Majesty - Elements Of Creation (CD)

Supreme Majesty
Elements Of Creation
by Eleni Mouratoglou at 22 April 2005, 5:29 AM

Swedish Supreme Majesty were formed in 1999 by Chrille Andersson (Non Serviam, Hellspell), Rille Svensson and the drummer Bartek Nalezinski. These three were previously in a Death Metal band called Mortum. The band's initial singer, Rikard Larsson (ex-Magica, Mercy), was only responsible for the vocals in the band's first release, an EP entitled Divine Empire (1999) and was then replaced by Joakim Olsson (ex-Deep Quest) in Supreme Majesty's debut album, Synopsis (2001).
By 2003 the trio became a sextet with the additions of Daniel Andersson, who had also been a Non Serviam member, Jocke Unger, the Immersed In Blood drummer and Tobias Wernersson (ex-Little Yankees, Ransom). Chrille Andersson was able of concentrating on the keyboards only. The second album, Danger was out that year. In 2004 Jonas Rydberg (ex-In Black, Sanzia) took over the drum kit and with this final line-up the band presented their third album, Elements Of Creation, which came out in March of 2005.
Supreme Majesty are one of that happy occasions when European Power Metal meets Melodic Hard Rock, just like my beloved Altaria. To me such bands that take advantage of the best aspects of each of my two preferred Metal genres are like an oasis-I admit that my tastes are quite to very restricted though. Apart from that they also address to the average keyboard lover-just like me again. Danger was like a super present for me when a friend suggested that I should listen to it (you see, you are not the only ones who have to suffer my obsessions). The title track was one of those that I keep on continuously listening to since then. So, I was thrilled to have the promo CD of Elements Of Creation in my hands.
Once again, the songs betray the musicians' background. If you check out their profiles at Supreme Majesty's official site you will see that Europe and John Norum's solo albums, among others, belong to their favorites. Influences of both can be discerned without much attempt. The speedy keys also reminded me of Sonata Arctica in some way.
The melodies are straight and catchy without the usually fake complications in compositions or the instrumentation, the keyboards flexible and at the same time leading and strengthening the rhythm and the guitars offer the substantial gravity that is necessary so that the final impression is not 'fluffy'. While the forenamed sum up to built the Power Metal dimension of the album, the nice chorus parts and Joakim Olsson's vocals, despite of following the Power Metal performing path, suit classic Melodic Hard Rock anthems. Olsson has that kind of voice that ideally supports such a result-sharp, clear and comfortable when going high up. His articulation is also great like the most Scandinavian frontmen's. Just listen to Soulseeker (I'd give much to hear him in Norum's Love Is Meant To Last Forever), One More Promise (the inevitable power ballad) and… in fact every track of this album and give him the credit. No need to say that the production is at the expected level. God, how relieving is all this clarity!
And now some other type of info: the CD also contains a making-of video and Die In A Dream is re-recorded, as it is taken from the EP. The Japanese edition of Elements Of Creation includes - not surprisingly - two bonus tracks, a not-surprising cover of the extremely 'popular to be' a cover song Out In The Fields of Gary Moore (recently covered by another similar band (Ghost Machinery) and Far Beyond The Sun.
- Album Highlights: Soulseeker, King Of Warriors, My Revenge, One More Promise and The Bitter End.

4 Star Rating

Dance Of The Elements
King Of Warriors
My Revenge
One More Promise
The Quest Pt 1
Dawn Of The Dead
Die In A Dream
The Bitter End
CD-Rom Video Making Of Elements Of Creation
Joakim Olsson - Vocals
Tobias Wernersson - Lead & Rhythm Guitars
Rille Svensson - Rhythm Guitars
Chrille Andersson - Keyboards
Daniel Andersson - Bass
Johas Rydberg - Drums
Record Label: Massacre Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green