Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

35 guests

Welcome to our newest member, umogox

Sven Gali - 3

Sven Gali
by Craig Rider at 09 July 2020, 1:31 PM

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: SVEN GALI; signed via RFL Records, hailing from Canadian grounds - performing Hard Rock/Heavy Metal, on their debut EP entitled: "3". (released 12.6.2020).

Since formation in 1987 under the monkier NIAGARA FALLS; 25 years later, reforming as SVEN GALI… they came back with the 2018 Single "Kill The Name", 2019s Single "You Won't Break Me" & this here debut EP entitled: "3". 4 tracks ranging at around 15:28; the quartet in question have those aforementioned singles, and their 2 Full-Length Albums from the NIAGARA FALLS era entitled: "Sven Gali" (released in 1992) & "In Wire" (released in 1995).

"Kill The Lies" opens up the record with this alternative-esquire beat; fuelled to the brim with amplified adrenaline, boisterously bouncy hooks and a blistering barraged frenzy of rhythmically riveting grooves. Executing a borderline foundation of jumpy punchiness, rawly rough fretworks and a clean aesthetic of crunchy tightness…while juxtaposting a distorted hybrid brilliantly solidfying this thunderously dextrous dynamic of quintessential virtuosity, vibrantly potent quirkiness & flamboyantly driven finesse. Consisting of Dave Wanless on vocals; the frontman excels at a clean demonstration of gruff yet profusely robust pipes, lungs element a gnarly fabrication of throaty yells that snarl with momentously primitive raspiness…distilling a catchy implementation of organic substance & a adroit attribute of high-pitched synergies that roar with meaty yet meticulous ramifications.

"You Won't Break Me" embellishes an experimental dimension of uniquely versatile vehemence; surging with striking firepower, and a hardened bolt of triggering grinds in which showcase this tempestuous tempo of trailblazing stability…merging complexly detailed harmonies with this salubrious manifestation of creatively engaging instrumentation with this volatile distinction of frolicking chugs & galloping guitar grips from Andy Frank. Shredding with melodious patterns that flow into a high-octane laceration of killer yet sonically seamless pursuits, systematically portraying this drony culmination of persevering quakes & tenacious calamities in which wonder with prodegiously prestigious sophistication. The vocals articulates an enriching flavour of mellifluously euphonic hums, forging an acerbic shine of mesmerising sharpness.

"Now" revels with thumpy funkiness; as audible bassist Shawn Minden infectiously injects rumbling reverberation with this strumming crescendo, battering away with bombastic blitzkrieg & piledriving riffs. Pummelling eardrums into a blasting maelstrom of bruising belters, thrilling nimbleness & rapidly swift remedies. Venomously pumping out this bulldozing expertise of symphonious verses while sprinkling a healthy dose of diverse variety with rambunctious noise that tremble with rowdy rompiness from hammering drummer Dan Fila. He smashes the set with steely precision, synergetically timing with oscillating slams & wildly rushing yet zestfully weighty songwriting musicianship. Overall concluding "3" with the rocking finale from "Hurt" (which pretty much opens up with the LIMP BIZKIT phenomenon riff "Break Stuff"); where second guitarist Sean Williamson establishes a breakdown fluid of slick chorus components where the loud/faded bits are prominent throughout the EP, fuelled with total swagger & this relentlessly monolithic style take over the sound production while oozing out remarkably anchoring heaviness.

Bottom line; I am compelled to say that SVEN GALI is an enjoyably entertaining discovery, and it shows that this potentially talented 5-piece have an impactful experience in the musical landscape with their expansive catalogue of old-school yet modernized representation of hardiness intertwined with some progressively technical milestones…that are certainly an outdoing testament for future endeavors still to come. Definitely a good listen!

Songwriting: 8
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 7
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Kill The Lies
2. You Won't Break Me
3. Now
4. Hurt 
Dave Wanless – Vocals
Andy Frank – Guitars
Shawn Minden – Bass
Sean Williamson – Guitars
Dan Fila - Drums
Record Label: RFL Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 14 August 2020

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green