Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

59 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Lords of Altamont – Tune In, Turn On, Electrify

Lords of Altamont
Tune In, Turn On, Electrify
by Alex Barnard at 13 September 2021, 10:32 PM

LORDS OF ALTAMONT is a Psychedelic Rock / Proto-Metal band from Los Angeles, CA. “Tune In, Turn On, Electrify” is the group’s seventh album, released by Heavy Psych Sounds Records on July 9, 2021.

This band has attitude in spades! Jake Cavaliere sings with the same Rock ’n’ Roll flare as icons like Mick Jagger and David Johansen of THE NEW YORK DOLLS; Dani Sindaco’s riffing is primitive yet as heavy as a sledgehammer; Barry Van Esbroek lays down a steady, backbeat groove on every single track; and Rob Zimmerman moves around the bass with the same melodic intensity as idols like Geezer Butler and John Entwistle.

The band opens on a particularly fiery note with the song “Living With The Squares.” The drum break in the middle is perhaps my favorite part, but the riffs are incredibly catchy and brimming with Punk intensity. “Burn Me Out” follows, with Cavaliere giving one of his most sneer-filled vocal performances on the whole album. “Million Watts Electrified” has a similar vibe to the previous track but with more dance-y feel to it. Cavaliere’s keyboard feels in this are excellent as well, and Sindaco’s use of the wah-pedal for certain riffs adds to the overall psychedelic flavor of the music.

Other highlights include “Blast For Kicksville,” which is probably the fastest number on the record; “Lost In The Future,” a brilliant tribute to one of the group’s most obvious influences, THE STOOGES; and “Mud (Wet Brain)” perhaps the most minimalist and brooding song on the whole album. Everything about that song sounds like the aural version of bad acid trip, and it works!

Overall, this is a very good album. LORDS OF ALTAMONT continue to play to their strengths on this record – not really forging any new territory, but making decent music. I’m excited to hear what they do next!

Musicianship: 6
Memorability: 6
Production: 7
Songwriting: 7

3 Star Rating

1. Living With The Squares
2. Burn Me Out
3. Million Watts Electrified
4. We'll Never Leave (This World Alive)
5. Levitation Mind
6. Blast For Kicksville
7. Soul In Flames
8. I Just Want
9. Lost In The Future (The Stooges Cover)
10. Movin’ (Goat's Revenge)
11. Mud (Wet Brain)
Dani Sindaco – Guitars/Vocals
Jake Cavaliere – Organs/Vocals
Barry Van Esbroek – Drums/Vocals
Rob Zimmerman – Bass/Vocals
Record Label: Heavy Psych Sounds Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green