Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

43 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

TarantisT – Not A Crime

Not A Crime
by Jess at 12 October 2017, 9:15 AM

 TARANTIST formed in the basements of Tehran, Iran in 2000, secretly gaining local and international attraction. They have ended up based out of LA, USA and have played many festivals throughout Europe and the USA. They have also played with many known bands such as: METALLICA, MOTÖRHEAD, STONE TEMPLE PILOTS, MUSE, and more. After a few releases under their belts TARANTIST is back with their latest “Not A Crime”. This album comes in with 14 tracks and a listening time of about 48 minutes.

The opening track, “Silence Before Storm”, comes in as a sort of church bells meets Techno meets news meets anxiety. It’s an insanely interesting intro combining completely differing sounds and situations creating a bit of chaos to introduce the listener to what “Not A Crime” is. “Hey You”, track two, comes in with a Grungy Psychedelic feel. Then come the growled vocals that completely throws the balance off. Tipping the scales has new meaning. Its uniqueness stands out. There is also an incredible atmospheric disposition with thick and chunky bass lines. It takes a second to get used to the mix of the deep style vocal with the Grungy Psychedelic atmosphere, but once you do, you’re hooked.

Track four, “Your Dance”, is another track that has a bit of Techno meets Progressive Metal ambiance. The vocals are so guttural in this track. That’s not saying there aren’t any clean, there just isn’t as much, which switches things up a little bit while listening. The music feels really electronic in this one, making it a prime ‘dance’ track. This is some interesting work indeed. “Disappointment”, track five, is much lower key and much more Progressive than the previous tracks. The mix of vocal growls is a nice addition. The drums are laid back, the guitars are light and don’t over power the track, and the bass keeps its chunky presence. The overall sound is so unique, similar to the affect “Hey You” had. This track feels a bit like something out of the 60s and is one of the best tracks on the album.

Track seven, “I Become God”, has another base line that is simply perfect. It’s light, but keeps the depth of the track working in tandem with the drums. The guitars bring in a bit of a Middle Eastern flare. The vocals are completely clean and soft. This ballad track is superb. Towards the end we get a bit harder over all sound, but this one stays pretty soft with amazing atmosphere. “Rain, Pour Down”, track nine, reminds me of a 90s Grunge-fest with 90s Death Metal vocals thrown in for good measure. The acoustic drums that are intertwined in this track are a phenomenal add. They add a bit of that same Middle Eastern flare found in track seven. Track twelve, “Pills”, is a track that sounds similar to PINK FLOYD’sComfortably Numb”, and it kind of fits considering the lyrical content. It’s fluid, funky, and has that ‘high’ feeling you find in “Comfortably Numb”. There is some incredible guitar work here and another really different take on their sound while keeping their base framework alive and well.

The final track, “Soldiers”, is just a 1:43 minute shorty, but is built on creative substance. The chorus gets intense but the rest is heavy and deep. It’s definitely the Metal version of the ‘left, left, left, right, left’ march. It has effectively created something different using something almost everyone knows. TARANTIST’sNot A Crime” is an intelligently creative album that greatly shakes up the Metal movement. The vocals are littered with guttural growls and thick with accent, the guitars shine through with authentic talent, the drums have an indisputable capability, and the bass is expertly achieved. If you are looking for something a little fluid, a little (or a lot) Progressive elements, and atmosphere; check this one out. It will not disappoint.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Memorability: 9
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Silence Before Storm
2. Hey You
3. Not A Crime
4. Your Dance
5. Disappointment
6. Summer
7. I Become God
8. Reflection
9. Rain, Pour Down
10. Burnt City
11. You Were Not
12. Pills
13. Vay Az To (Drunk Version)
14. Soldiers
Arash – Bass and Vocals
Reza – Drums
Arsalan – Guitars
Bahman – Guitars and Vocals
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 28 January 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green