Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

34 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Tarot - Gravity Of Light

Gravity Of Light
by Mike Novak at 21 April 2010, 12:04 PM

Despite achieving notoriety as Marco Hietala’s “other” band away from NIGHTWISH, TAROT has actually been around since the mid 80’s. Marco, along with his brother Zachary, have been performing straight-up heavy metal for over two decades! I’ll admit I probably never would have heard of this band if Marco had not also played in NIGHTWISH, but that’s ok. Better late than never, right?

I would love to see some of these songs live, in an arena, with pyrotechnic and light displays. Fist-pumping anthems like “Rise!” and especially “Satan Is Dead” are top-notch arena metal. Somewhat more mid-paced songs like “Hell Knows” work well too. I’m glad Zachary Hietala opens up in several songs with some technically unspectacular but still appropriate and satisfying guitar solos. I wish that he would have done that on some of the more ho-hum songs.

And speaking of ho-hum songs, the quality drops off a lot in the second half. Songs like “Sleep in the Dark” and “Magic and Technology” are content to plod along with little, if any, variation. Marco’s powerful voice is wasted on songs where the music is anything but. I also hoped for more from the closing mini-epic, “Gone.” It seemed to be building up to a powerful conclusion, but the song never reaches a summit.

So is this TAROT release worth the money? Probably so. I just feel that the quality pales in comparison to their past few albums. That being said, there are plenty of rocking moments. If only NIGHTWISH could still play this heavy…

3 Star Rating

  1. Satan Is Dead
  2. Hell Knows
  3. Rise!
  4. Pilot Of All Dreams
  5. Magic And Technology
  6. Calling Down The Rain
  7. Caught In The Deadlights
  8. I Walk Forever
  9. Sleep In The Dark
  10. Gone
Marco Hietala - Vocals, Bass
Zachary Hietala - Guitar
Pecu Cinnari - Drums
Janne Tolsa - Keyboards
Tommi "Tuple" Salmela - Vocals, Sampler
Record Label: Nuclear Blast Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 28 January 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green