Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Teleport - The Expansion

The Expansion
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 08 March 2019, 9:00 AM

From their Facebook page, TELEPORT is a band that celebrates the ancient galactic forces that rule over the abyss and permeate the endless plains of life. We call forth your attention from the darkness of our shapeless universe. Hailing from the capital city of Slovenia, Ljubljana, TELEPORT formed in 2010, and up to this point, have released only demos and an EP. “The Expansion” is their newest demo, and contains three tracks.

“Beholder of the Silent Sea” leads off the album. It’s chaotic right out the gates, but poorly produced. It sounds like Black Metal, to me, albeit with some technical and progressive insight, sort of like IHSAHN. The music is fairly dissonant for the most part, while the vocals are shrieks of varying degrees. Around the half way mark, it settles into a groove, with a main riff fueling the sound. “The Expansion” is another dissonant and chaotic sounding song, with guitars leading the charge. Structurally the music is not easy to follow, but it does create a path, it’s just circuitous in nature. It paused around the half way mark, cymbals banging and guitars sounding out of tune. This is some unique and fairly twisted stuff here.

“Aphotic Flames of Dissolution” closes the album; a nine minute beast. For the first few minutes, it rages out of order, changing direction faster than you can keep up with. From there it’s more of the same. Dissonant music with raging vocals, and heavy technical insight. Around the half way mark it sounds like they tire, from all of the crazy guitar work. But it’s just a pause to allow the atmosphere to soak in. But, the chaos returns and even with a guitar solo that is tastefully done, though a bit out of whack.

Though it’s often hard to tell a lot about a band from just three tracks, it wasn’t in this case, due to each track taking on a similar pattern. Ten tracks of this would have been overkill, if they weren’t able to work in some variation into their sound. Though the three tracks at first seemed similar, they actually weren’t if you pay attention to the details. Peel back the layers one by one and you will find technical and progressive guitar work, done in varied fashion, and a drummer who is one fantastic timekeeper. They could use a good producer, but I think this band has a bright future.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Memorability: 8
Production: 6

4 Star Rating

1. Beholder of the Silent Sea
2. The Expansion
3. Aphotic Flames of Dissolution
Lovro Babič – Bass
Darian Kocmur – Drums
Matija Dolinar – Guitars
Record Label: Edged Circle Productions


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 06 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green