Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

25 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Tellus Requiem - Invictus (The 11th Hour)

Tellus Requiem
Invictus (The 11th Hour)
by Tuoksu Holopainen at 04 February 2013, 4:49 PM

If you have never listened to the Norwegian quintet TELLUS REQUIEM, then I guess it's time for you to check them out. "Invictus (The 11th Hour)", the band's second full-length, is a solid multilayered album ranging from Symphonic Power Metal to SYMPHONY X and DREAM THEATER's Progressive Metal.

First I should mention that I definitely love the gorgeous album artwork. The epic intro "Ab Aeterno" can easily give the impression that the album will be all Symphonic Power Metal (which is not the case actually) with its symphonic interludes and choirs, all before Stig Nergård's magnificent guitar work comes in on the following tracks. The previously released single "Red Horizon" is where you'll start hearing Ben Rodgers' powerful and fine voice, which shall be witnessed throughout the whole album.

"Eden Burns" is a track that instantly reminded me of my countrymen MYRATH because of the oriental approach. "Sand Of Gold" is one of the most powerful pieces with a great velocity and a very progressive sound. The most notable tracks for me were "Reflections Remain", "Redemption" as well as the title track and the subtle way it fades in the closing track "Dies Irae".

Besides the great guitars, intense keyboards and Rodgers' outstanding vocals, the band used some beauteous female vocals and heavy choirs for some tracks, as well as some enchanting orchestrations.

All tracks are perfectly linked together, and the album has a uniform atmosphere, with a slight variation, but the overall sound is altogether impeccable.

Finally, I think this album shall be really appreciated by Progressive Metal fans as well as those who are more into symphonic stuff.

3 Star Rating

1. Ab Aeterno
2. Red Horizon
3. Eden Burns
4. Reflections Remain
5. Twilight Hour
6. Sands of Gold
7. Tranquility
8. Redemption (Frontiers 2)
9. Invictus
10. Dies Irae
Ivar Hagen Bøe - Bass
Vidar Lehmann - Drums
Stig Nergård - Guitars
Anders Sundbø - Keyboards
Ben Rodgers - Vocals
Record Label: Nightmare Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green