Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

39 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Tensor - The Suicide Connection

The Suicide Connection
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 26 November 2019, 12:38 PM

TENSOR was founded in 2017 by Jeroen D'Hauwers, a versatile guitar player in need of an outlet for his metal oriented ideas. To ensure the level of skill required to fulfil his vision, he approached different musicians who had already proven their experience in other bands and projects. One year after its inception, TENSOR have recorded their first demo, which delivered them modest attention in international press. 2019 will see the release of their first official EP. The album contains four tracks.

“Beyond the Void” leads off the EP, with a heavy and aggressive sound. The vocals are shouted, kind of like SLAYER. The cadence is mid-tempo and steady and delivered in an almost rap-style. “The Gates of Madness” opens with low bass tones and clean guitars, and a somber feeling. When the main sound hits, it sounds like Thrash Metal to me, with some Progressive overtones. It doesn’t last long enough to really hit home, however. “Reflections” is another mid-tempo song with galloping kick bass and a riff that you have heard before. The vocals are beginning to annoy me at this point. Combined with an easy riff, and you have a recipe for disaster. They vary the riff towards the end but the song is stuck in the mid-tempo blues.

“Windows over Winters Past” closes the album, and it’s the longest song, at close to six minutes in length. It opens with another recognizable riff, and that same pacing and vocal structure. The lead guitar section is nice…it adds another dimension to the music. Overall however, I was less than impressed with the album. Many of the riffs are trite, and you have heard them before. I hear a lack of experience, which is contrary to how the band defines themselves. If they are great musicians, they don’t do a good job of showcasing that. Maybe taking some risks would pay off, but as it is, it is pretty boring.

Songwriting: 4
Musicianship: 5
Memorability: 3
Production: 6

2 Star Rating

1. Beyond the Void
2. Gates of Madness
3. Reflections
4. Window over Winters Past
Jeroen D'Hauwers – Guitar
Kenny Molly – Vocals
Nicky Frissyn – Bass
Pieter Clerens – Guitar
Ruben Vranken – Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green