Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

37 guests

Welcome to our newest member, leanne

Teramaze - I Wonder Award winner

I Wonder
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 28 September 2020, 2:54 PM

TERAMAZE formed in 1993 under the moniker TERRORMAZE. The Australian Progressive Metal band changed their name when the band members discovered Christianity, which took their lyrics and music on a different direction. “I Wonder” is the band’s seventh full-length release and contains ten tracks.

“Ocean Floor” leads off the album. It opens with the sound of water, and some light keys. Drums, bass, vocals and guitars hit hard, along with harmonized vocals. The guitars chugg along in a certain patter, while the vocals are emotive. It’s a bit of a melancholy affair, but that guitar solo shines bright in the grey skies. “Only Daylight” is heavy with piano and keys, with clean and easy vocals. The verses are a bit solemn but turn somewhat hopeful in the harmonized vocals in the chorus. It slows to take a breath with bass guitar notes and some leads here and there. It crashes towards the ending with plenty of doleful emotions.

“Lake” is a shorter song, opening with keys and soothing vocals. The layers in the vocals create this sense of longing that grab your heart and pull it from your chest. I have always maintained there is beauty in depression. “A Deep State of Awake” is close to nine-minutes in length. It opens with spoken word and the steady thumping of bass guitar notes. The Progressive sound of the band comes through stronger here. Harsh vocals give the song a totally different edge. The clean vocals are warm, and welcoming.

“Here to Watch You” opens with clean guitars and some light percussion. “I’m here to love you for a night” he croons. It picks up with the distorted guitar riff and builds to a crescendo with some tight instrumentation and Progressive elements. When that perfect blend of keys and guitars mesh in synergy, you have “Sleeping Man.” The opening notes give it all away. It opens with a super-catchy riff and emotional vocals. The vocals in the verses are tender and inviting. But when he sings “I’ve awoken the sleeping man inside,” it might be the catchiest chorus of any song I have heard in 2020. What power, what emotion it exudes. I’m awoke emotionally, with chills and goosebumps.

“Idle Hands the Devil’s Workshop” is a near-ten-minute opus. It opens with some darker tones and eerie keys. The rhythm guitar section is slow and powerful, and those Progressive elements make themselves known. Another big, strong chorus follows. Dual harmonic leads really push the emotions here. The piano and ambient passage is absolutely beautiful. It ends in a big build-up with a fantastic guitar solo and the final chorus. “Run” opens with charming clean vocals and piano notes, while rain falls quietly on an overcast day late in fall. You look out the window for the 10nth time that day and see the same landscape. It’s depressing but oh so poignant. The chorus is gut-wrenching and will delve into your very soul.

“This is not a Drill” is a gloomier and more commanding sound. They really know how to wallow in grey skies and darkness. The first lead break makes perfect sense with the sound to date. But it takes a charming pause to let out some emotional elements. The push and pull of the competing elements is what makes the song so good. Yin and yang…and what a big, emotional ending. “I Wonder” closes the album. It opens with piano, vocals, and guitars and pulls your feelers towards the music. “If only you could fly away with me” he croons. It pushes forward to a sentimental ending that is pure sublime bliss.

In my experience, it’s rare that an album can make such an emotional impact on me. But that is exactly what TERAMAZE have done here with “I Wonder.” It’s so pretty, that it makes my heart ache. “Run,” “Sleeping Man,” and “I Wonder” perhaps had the greatest effect on me. But each track left a mark in one way or another. Unabashedly and unashamedly beautiful both lyrically and musically, the key is the method in which they combine powerful and commanding sounds with moments of breathtaking wonder. This was one of the most moving albums I have heard in some time, and a contender for Album of the Year for sure.

Songwriting: 10
Musicianship: 10
Memorability: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. Ocean Floor
2. Only Daylight
3. Lake
4. A Deep State of Awake
5. Here to Watch You
6. Sleeping Man
7. Idle Hands the Devil’s Workshop
8. Run
9. This is not a Drill
10. I Wonder
Dean Wells – Guitars, Vocals
Andrew Cameron – Bass
Nick Ross – Drums
Chris Zoupa – Guitars
Record Label: Wells Music


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 27 September 2021

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green