Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

51 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

The Age Of The Universe - Singularity Award winner

The Age Of The Universe
by Adam Clarke at 30 July 2014, 10:58 AM

Is this three-piece trio set to be the next big thing in Rock “n” Roll? I believe so! Sounding like MUSE back in their prime, THE AGE OF THE UNIVERSE bring back this old style to the present with energetic and lively songs that’ll leave you wanting more.

Everything from the tone of the guitars, to the voice of Isaac clearly shows how MUSE was most likely the leading influence on this band’s style. The high pitched vocals of Isaac Reese are very reminiscent of Matt Bellamy, which I feel makes the songs sound epic yet smooth to listen to. Whilst their songs may be chaotic in some places (such as in the beginning of “Alive”­), this album is very easy to get lost in and drift away. A perfect example of this is in their song “Far from the sun”, which is also my personal favourite of the album. At a tempo suitable for slow dancing, this melancholic song may leave you in tears, yet it’s beauty must be listened to right up until a climatic moment about three minutes in where the song epically explodes as you feel the passion in Isaac’s voice.

Other songs such as “Questions” remind me heavily of how DEFTONES currently sound with their newest record Koi No Yokan.  Enrico has done a brilliant job in creating drum scores that can alternate the mood of the whole song. Whether it’s in a slow and soft song such as “Questions”, or a fast and chaotic song such as “Alive”, he always finds a way to bring something interesting to the table. Then again, the same goes for the rest of the band. There is some very intelligent song writing going on here, an album that has definitely impressed me.

For an album I was unsure about to begin with, I can safely say this is one for the books. Hopefully they can continue to produce such quality material over the next few years, I am excited to see what they can bring.

4 Star Rating

1. Alive
2. Believe
3. The men on the edge
4. Far from the sun
5. Fallen Angel
6. Priceless
7. Singularity
8. Spanish Eyes
9. Say it loud
10. Questions
11. Dreams of tomorrow
Isaac Reese – Guitars, Vocals
Enrico Canu - Drums
Alessandro D’Ascoli - Bass
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green