Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

GHernandez, 65 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

The Amity Affliction – Everyone Loves You…. Once You Leave Them Award winner

The Amity Affliction
Everyone Loves You…. Once You Leave Them
by Joseph Hausmann at 03 May 2020, 12:02 PM

Australian Metalcore powerhouse THE AMITY AFFLICTION has released their seventh full length album "Everyone Loves You… Once You Leave Them." This band has had major success throughout their career and inception since 2003 blending aggressive tones with soaring choruses. Throughout the years, THE AMITY AFFLICTION has been one of the spearheads of the Hardcore/Metalcore genre helping shape it into what it has become today. This album is almost a diary of the band’s development of sound as they use elements that are familiar to them and their fans but also branch out into heavier and darker sounds. It’s an interesting look into the band’s past as well as a glimpse into the future path they have set for themselves.

Diving straight into the album we are met with "Coffin," which sets an ominous dark tone to the album straight off the bat. The darkness they dive into on this track is almost enveloping. The sound is extremely heavy with some Deathcore aspects that make this a great introduction to the darker sound that they are veering towards. There is no brightness in this track, which is a refreshing change of pace from the standard Metalcore sound. The blending of elements is really impressive as they employ symphonic sounds, paired up with brutal instrumentals. "Soak Me in Bleach" uses some electronic elements, coupled with a melancholic, soft vocal performance. Then it opens up into a savage chorus before returning to the softer sounds. This track reminds me of some of the albums they produced early on in their career, but with a darker tone. The crushing breakdown in this track is well-crafted and perfectly executed.

"Baltimore Rain" begins with an electronic beat that builds into eviscerating vocals. The clean singing brings a bit of light to the album but it feels more melancholic than bright. It’s a good way to keep that dark sound without veering too far away from their signature sound. The guitar solo adds another layer; it caught me off guard and was unexpected. "Aloneliness" is an interesting track. It begins with a chorus different from the rest of the album. The instrumental backdrop is almost entirely removed to give the stage to the clean singing. This vocal track gives you a respite from the heavier songs.

"Just Like Me" pulls at the heartstrings. It’s like the band is speaking directly to you while taking you on a journey of deep emotions. This song is very relatable for just about anyone in the world, as it’s about the feeling of fighting the world but never getting anywhere. We have all been there but they also delve into the idea that you are not alone in that fight. "Born to Lose" brings us back to heavier sounds. The intro instrumentals are savage and brutal, before breaking away into clean verses. This track is a wave of sound bringing you to clean peaks and dirty depths. The gutturals of this track also vary in range, which brings an unexpected feel and well done layering. "Catatonia" rounds out the album with a crushing performance. The cleans and gutturals are paired together which provides yet another great variety to the album. The cleans then break into a seperate chorus giving just enough brightness to blend the sounds well.

The unpredictability of "Everyone Loves You… Once You Leave Them" is superb and refreshing. It is a quality for me that really makes an album jump out to me and this one does in a big way. There are so many elements that blended so well in this album. I remember the band’s first album and was impressed by their sound. This seventh album is no different. They are pushing the boundaries of that sound further and I really enjoy the darker tones that they bring in this one. I swear the older these guys get, the heavier and darker they are becoming. If Metalcore is your thing, then this album is definitely for you. Even if it’s not, this album is for you. There are so many things in this album that a wide variety of fans from different Metal genres will enjoy. But this is my take on it and I highly recommend that you give it a listen!

Songwriting: 9
Musicianship: 9
Memorability: 9
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Coffin
2. All My Friends Are Dead
3. Soak Me in Bleach
4. All I Do Is Sink
5. Baltimore Rain
6. Aloneliness
7. Forever
8. Just Like Me
9. Born to Lose
10. Fever Dream
11. Catatonia
Joel Birch – Vocals
Ahren Stringer – Bass, Vocals
Dan Brown – Guitar
Record Label: Pure Noise Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green