Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

41 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

The Deathtrip - Demon Solar Totem

The Deathtrip
Demon Solar Totem
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 05 November 2019, 6:12 AM

THE DEATHTRIP is an International band with members based in Norway and the UK. Formed in 2008, their debut LP release was in 2014, called “Deep Drone Master.” Five years later, they present their sophomore effort, titled “Demon Solar Totem,” which contains seven tracks. The title track leads us off here, opening with some scary feedback and guitar work. Once it gets going, it’s a slow and powerful song, with traditional Black Metal elements. It picks up about 1/3 of the way in, with harrowing vocal screams. “Angel Fossils” opens with some dissonance in the guitars and features some spoken/shouted vocals and that back and forth one-note riff that is so common in the genre. There is some chanting towards the end that reminds me of ritual sacrifice.

“Enter Spectral Realms” has a slower grind, with some lower vocals, going for the powerful approach here. There is also some variation here which is a nice change of pace for the genre, especially the final few moments. “Surrender to a Higher Power” takes a little bit for the sound to get going and then it’s full-on. The clean, harmonized vocals are a change and bring another element to the album. The guitars are hypnotic here. “Vintage Telepathy” has a slower groove, allowing the evil elements to soak into your skin slowly, changing you from the inside out. The slow, mesmerizing sound is subtle but does the trick. “Abraxas Mirrors” has a slow lead in and then it comes barreling at you like a runaway tire. The intensity never lets up, and those guitars soar.

“Awaiting a New Maker” closes the album…a ten minute beast. The chanting again makes for a frightening listening experience. All kinds of strange sounds abound, completing the nightmare that you are in Hell, witnessing the rising of Lucifer to power over the world and the death of God as you know him. It ends with a long fade out. Overall, I really liked the album here. Though fairly traditional in the genre boundaries, they sprinkled in bits and pieces of their own personality in their music. It really gave the album a scary edge. I think this album will appeal to old school fans of Black metal as well as younger generations looking for something new.

Songwriting: 8
Musicianship: 7
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Demon Solar Totem
2. Angel Fossils
3. Enter Spectral Realms
4. Surrender to a Higher Power
5. Vintage Telepathy
6. Abraxas Mirrors
7. Awaiting a New Maker
Paul Groundwell – Guitars
Kvohst – Vocals
Jon T. Wesseltoft – Bass
Record Label: Svart Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green