Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

28 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

The Defiants - Zokusho

The Defiants
by Jo M. Dykes at 12 October 2019, 2:08 AM

New York-based THE DEFIANTS' newest album, "Zokusho", was released on September 13th, 2019 via Frontiers Music Srl. Deriving from the Japanese language, “Zokusho” translates to 'sequel' or 'the next chapter', a title that was given due to the fact that it is the band's second album to date, having released their self-titled debut album back in 2016. Stylistically speaking, the band plays Hard Rock that's bordering with Metal. Their Canadian vocalist, Paul Laine, started his musical career as a solo artist before joining DANGER DANGER, and fronting his own band SHUGAAZER. In 2016, he formed THE DEFIANTS.

“Zokusho” contains 11 tracks of Heavy Metal songs, which are original and classy. When comparing it to the band's 2016 debut album, bassist Bruno Ravel states “I think the sound of the new album, while similar to the debut is a bit more focused. I also think that the songs, as a collection, are stronger”. Indeed, THE DEFIANTS' second record, "Zokusho", is of a similar style to their self-titled debut, but shows the band's growth as well. The songwriting is great, reaching deep into the emotions, by portraiting themes such as love, romance and heartbreak.

Some tracks on this album are worth taking note of; “Fallin’ For You” is a romantic song about falling in love. The song features some sweet guitar riffs and quality drumming and showcases Paul Laine's vocal range rather well. Another song to listen out for is “U X’d My Heart”.  A song about heartbreak and the failing of a relationship. It is a deep song which many will be able to relate to, having experienced break-ups. Another good song on the album is “Stay”, which, at 5 minutes and 11 seconds in, is a song about taking a chance on love. The album's orientation is very romantic. Definitely a well-written album, which shows that a lot of heart and soul has gone into the song-writing stage.

In my opinion, I’d say this is overall a good album to listen to. Lyrically well-thought-out and musically pleasant to listen to. Similar in style to the debut album and yet different in growth and pattern. It's an album that takes off from the very first track.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Memorability: 9
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Love Is The Killer
2. Standing On The Edge
3. Hollywood In Headlights
4. Fallin’ For You
5. Hold On Tonight
6. Allnighter
7. U X’d My Heart
8. It Goes Fast
9. Stay
10. Alive
11. Drink Up
Paul Laine – Vocals
Bruno Ravel – Bass, Guitars, Keyboards
Rob Marcello – Guitars
Van Romaine – Drums
Record Label: Frontiers Music Srl


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 28 September 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green