Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

ProfBurp, 67 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

The Great Discord - Afterbirth

The Great Discord
by Jean-François ‘’Jackal’’ Poulin at 02 April 2019, 7:03 AM

THE GREAT DISCORD are already back with another release, not even 2 years after the critical success of ‘’The Rabbit Hole’’, they are back with an EP called ‘’Afterbirth’’. There is only 4 songs on this mini-album but you got another version of ‘’Neon Dreaming’’ and a cover of the BJORK classic, ‘’Army of Me’’. The cover is absolutely magnificent, it is done be artist Juhani Karhunmaa. This local artist really did a masterful job with the cover. I always get a kick out of seeing awesome album covers and this is one of the nicest I have seen this year bar none.

‘’Neon Dreaming’’ is a re-imagining of the track from the previous album. It really is a stripped down version of the song, its bare bones compared to the original version of the song. I always enjoy a band that revisits and reimagines tracks but it also gives you time to listen to the original versions. In other words, you can see the slight changes, the time changes and the pace changes when you compare both versions. The vocals are vastly different on the re-imagined version and gives you added depth but also ads an eerie feeling especially with the screaming at the end of the song itself.

‘’Army of Me’’ was the breakthrough 1995 song from the ‘’Post’’ album from Icelandic superstar BJORK. This is the song that broke through the barriers of music back in the mid-nineties. This is a much heavier version and such a departure from the original. Fia Kempe fiery vocals add something distinct and she really makes this song her own. BJORK has her style, her outlandish vocals definitely are the most unique out there but Fia Kempe adds some substance. The musicianship is also on point on the song, Aksel Holmgren does a fine job on the drums and that bass playing is freakin’ awesome!

As for ‘’Heart’’ and ‘’Afterbirth’’ , they mark a different musical change for the band. They are pretty much departing from the Progressive Metal genre scene and branching out. I was not expecting this but the transition is really seamless. They sound more like a band like in the vein of SISTER SIN, BUTCHER BABIES but closer to a band like IN THIS MOMENT. It’s not a knock on them, they decided to do something different and I such hope that departure will mark some great success from this underappreciated yet awesome band!

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 7

4 Star Rating

1. Heart
2. Afterbirth
3. Army of Me
4. Neon Dreaming
André Axell – Guitars
Fia Kempe – Vocals
Aksel Holmgren – Drums
Gustav Almberg – Guitars
Rasmus Carlson – Bass
Record Label: The Sign Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green