Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

36 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

The Incident - The Incident

The Incident
The Incident
by Crisstopher Robyn at 10 June 2019, 8:17 PM

Not much is known about this new alt/prog rock band. Their debut was released April 19, 2019 and the band is influenced by bands such as ANATHEMA, KATANONIA, PINEAPPLE THIEF, PORCUPINE TREE & FOO FIGHTERS. After searching relentlessly, I was able to find just the few things mentioned above. I’m not sure if they sound like any of their influences, so I am just going to jump right into this album. Hopefully, I will be surprised, or maybe not.

The twelve track album begins with “Cold Silence”.  The song begins with soft tones and vocals. The music is really a slow sonnet. The piano is nice touch but the song isn’t very impressive. The lyrics are well written though. “Maggot Brain” holds more of a bass groove. The lyrics are distorted and do not fit well here. Underneath is a softer voice that may be more appropriate for this song. The chorus pops out of nowhere and that soft voice takes over the song and becomes a different entity. This one could have been better. Mid way through, we get “Starting Over,” which is a very mellow song that contains violins. The music is pretty and it could almost be used in a ballet, but the vocals have this delay effect and again, another brilliant song lost.

Empty Room” has a very peaceful sound as the song is introduced. Here the acoustic sounds flow more like a small creek in the wilderness. The calmness of the vocals and music relax your ears, feels like something you would fall asleep to at night. It’s a very good song. “A Leap Of Faith” holds the same atmosphere as the previous track. The guitars are flutters under the bass and drums before the sounds erupts into a full on electric chorus. The song is like day and night in parts but it is worth a spin. “East” ends the 12-track album. The intro has a choppy guitar that finally squeezes into time with the drums. The vocals have some spoken word mixed under the singing parts. Musically the song is very good, keeping more of a soft tone through the verses. The chorus brings a single vocal track that has some very good range. This one could have been better sadly.

THE INCIDENT have an interesting take on music. The soft melodies and the harmonization are on point in parts but waver in others. It is a softer side of rock in parts but other songs are a swing and a miss. With all of the different layers of vocals most songs just cannot get there. I really wish the vocals would have more monotone with layers that harmonize them.  I could see pieces of influences through the album, but honestly, I never heard a bit of the FOO FIGHTERS playing in any of the songs. This is only the beginning for the independent band, so I am sure they will refine their sound with more time.

Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Memorability: 6
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1. Cold Silence
2. Choices
3. Maggot Brain
4. Walk Away
5. False Dreaming
6. Starting Over
7. Sunset
8. Empty Room
9. Leap Of Faith
10. Whisper
11. To The Lost
12. East

Tryfon Baitsis - Vocals
Denis Efimenko - Guitars, Bass
Lef Germenlis - Keys
Matthew Vella – Drums

Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green