Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

55 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

The Kraken - ...Rises Award winner

The Kraken
by Marcos “Big Daddy” Garcia at 24 September 2014, 8:52 PM

Well, particularly, your Ol’ Big Daddy loves to know some new bands and hear their first musical works. That’s a conviction that Metal must go on, and we can’t stay on the past endlessly. Yes, we’ll always need more new bands, doing fine works, to keep on. And it’s very good to hear this Australian quartet, THE KRAKEN (do not confound them with the British legendary NWOBHM band KRAKEN, please), and their EP “…Rises”.

They do an old fashioned Metal in the very same vein from bands like MASTODON (but not as technical as them), BARONESS, BLACK SABBATH, and DEEP PURPLE, but with a particular and very aggressive way. Yes, they have guts and personality to do such a sound, with good vocals (sometimes reminding the way James Hetfield used to do on the past. But could be a bit better, to be honest), excellent riffs, and heavy bass and drums. Of course, their musical influences got some doses of modern Thrash Metal as well, so we really can feel that these guys are on the right way.

The sound quality is a bit raw and foggy, but it’s not to the point to damage their musical efforts. In reality, we feel that this rawer atmosphere is something intentional, something that they need to put their music to flow the way THE KRAKEN must be.

The arrangements are the very soul of their music, done in aggressive and abrasive way, so their music is alive, and their five songs are all fine, but the greater moments are the aggressive and harsh “Slow Decay” (rear the power of the guitars in this mid tempo song), “Hole” and its more primordial 70s feeling, but as well, “Purps”, a medley done with DEEP PURPLE classics “Fireball” and “Space Truckin’”.

They really have guts, so let’s hope a full album is on the way!

4 Star Rating

01. …Rises
02. Slow Decay
03. Purps
04. Hole
05. Let Go
Matt Disisto – Lead guitar, vocals
Kyle Simpson – Guitar
Charlie Young – Bass
Ryan Quarrington – Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green