Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

49 guests

Welcome to our newest member, AlexBarnard

The Lidocaine - On The Road To Miero

The Lidocaine
On The Road To Miero
by CJ "Music God" Plain at 28 March 2013, 3:58 PM

Hailing from Helsinki, Finland come the band THE LIDOCAINE with their second release, "On The Road To Miero". It's an ambitious effort with plenty of twists and turns.

The CD kicks off with the heavy tune "Life Is Beautiful". Immediately upon hearing the vocals you get the Serj Tankian comparison. It's not a subtle influence, it's a full on, slap you in the face with it influence. The guitars are well done here but it's hard to get past the vocals.

The CD continues this way until the song "Guilty", which oddly adds death metal growls on top of the Tankian sound-a-like vocals. It's actually a huge improvement on the previous songs and makes the band sound much more natural. I think it fits the tone of the tunes better.

Throughout the music, you can hear the influences of MUSE, AMORPHIS, and PINK FLOYD. It's a quirky combination of sounds that are delivered in a bottom heavy yet still hard rocking style. It has an almost MOTORHEAD kind of production going on.

There's obvious talent here on the musical side of things but the vocals are really hard to get past on most of these tunes. They're not awful or anything, they just don't fit in places. The songs that work best are the ones with the death metal style vocals and I would highly encourage the band to consider going to that full time.

Lyrically, the songs are well written and interesting. There's a good bit here to work with and build on. With just a few tweaks to their sound, I think they could go a long ways and really become a band to reckon with in the heavy music scene. 

3 Star Rating

1. Life is Beautiful
2. Personally Sick Skin
3. Bring Back The Pain
4. The Tail
5. Guilty
6. Reach
7. On The Road To Miero
8. Disgust
9. Save Me From Myself
10. Wrong
11. Saving Wing (Or maybe a Devils thing)
Anthony Rausku – Vocals / Guitar
Eroz – Vocals / Guitar
Jura Sarlin - Bass
Jari Vanhanen - Drums
Record Label: Inverse Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green