Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

34 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

The Neptune Power Federation – Le Demon De L'Amour

The Neptune Power Federation
Le Demon De L'Amour
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 03 April 2022, 7:51 AM

Heading into the creation of their fifth studio album, "Le Demon De L’Amour," Australian psychedelic rock and roll brigade THE NEPTUNE POWER FEDERATION couldn’t let go of the fact that love songs had been commandeered, in their words, by “soft rockers, bedwetters and the introvert crowd.” Whereas rock had its glory period during the 1970s and 80s, the art of the love song is now lost within heavier music. Few bands are now willing to venture into such territory — metal and rock have settled comfortably into typical, predictable lyrical tropes that fail to pull at the heartstrings the way they used to. On "Le Demon De L’Amour", THE NEPTUNE POWER FEDERATION reclaims the art of the love song as their own. The album contains eight tracks.

“Weeping on the Morn” leads off the album. It’s an eight-minute beast of throwback 80’s riffs with a strong front woman. Her vocals are so damn high. Like the epic “Stranglehold,” this song lingers and explores with a rough and tumble riff and some charming melodic notes. “My Precious One” is much shorter and more concise, with a fuzzy riff and some get-up-and-go energy. “Baby Your Mine” features a groovy swing, like something out of the 70’s. Again, the vocalist has an impressive range, and that funky bass line will get your head bobbing.

“Loving You is Killing Me” showcases some strong vocal harmonies as the vocalist belts out in ranges that seem almost impossible. She can really wail, and the guitar solo section shows a band who play very well together. “Stay with Thee” begins with a thumping bass line and some tough guitar riffs. Again, the vocal harmonies are put together well, and this song is quite catchy. “Emmaline” is a mid-tempo rocker. I was expecting more “love songs” or “power ballads” on the album as described above, but it’s a love song of sorts as are the others on the album…just a bit more subdued. “Madly in Love” begins with vocal harmonies and some energy in the main riff. Once again, Loz sings her ass off in the song as she does on the entire album in general.

“We Beasts of the Night” closes the album. Opening with spoken words, it segues into an acoustical riff that is unexpected. The vocals are a sweet duet in a MEAT LOAF type of power ballad, with a great chorus. Though this isn’t music that you haven’t heard before, it’s honest, and the vocalist is outstanding. She might be the best that I have heard this year so far. She is soulful, expressive, and emotive. The band that backs her fits with her style very well. This was a nice change of pace for me, and I enjoyed the album very much, as I am sure you will.

Songwriting: 7
Musicianship: 7
Memorability: 7
Production: 8

3 Star Rating

1. Weeping on the Morn
2. My Precious One
3. Baby You're Mine
4. Loving You is Killing Me
5. Stay with Thee
6. Emmaline
7. Madly in Love
8. We Beasts of the Night
Screaming Loz Sutch – Vocals
Search and DesTroy – Guitar
Inverted CruciFox – Guitar
Jaytanic Ritual – Bass
River Sticks – Drums
Record Label: Cruz Del Sur Music


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green