Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

43 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

The Royal - Dreamcatchers

The Royal
by Shaun “The Music Junky” Schwanke at 08 September 2014, 9:22 PM

Fans of PARKWAY DRIVE, AUGUST BURNS RED, & AS I LAY DYING prepare yourselves for the next big Metalcore band, THE ROYAL. If you are tired of the same old breakdown after breakdown style of music, and crave a little more, this Dutch five piece might be what you are looking for. “Dreamcatchers”, is the full-length follow up to the 2012 EP “Origins”. One can see that these guys mean business.

All of the tracks are well written, and heavy, with great lyrics and production. It even has guest appearances from I THE BREATHER’s Shawn Spann, and FIT FOR A KING’s Ryan Kirby on tracks “Halfhearted”, and “Earth Gazer”. Interspersed throughout are synths, which bare similarities to bands such as BORN OF OSIRIS.   Also throughout are symphonic motifs, and slightly more progressive bits, which are a nice change of pace in a genre that is oversaturated with non-stop breakdowns. Every track is heavy, and pummelling, save for the intro entitled “Hymn”, and the final song, which is a beautifully crafted, orchestral version of the song “Origins”. Although each of the tracks on this album is very well written, the standout for me is “Mad Deuce”. It contains all of the elements that make this band unique amongst the droves of sound-alikes in the genre. Pummelling groove, progressive sections, and orchestral sections really showcase the band’s versatility. The low point of this album for me, is track six entitled, “Haven”. While being a well-written piece, it seems far too short, and lacks a little substance, making it feel a bit like filler. With that being said, the ideas found within are great. These guys will definitely be a band to keep your eye on.

4 Star Rating

1. Hymn
2. Spirit Walker
3. The New Breed
4. Earth Gazer
5. Dreamcatchers
6. Haven
7. Mad Deuce
8. Lilith
9. Defender
10. Halfhearted
11. Skyler
12. Arga
13. Origins (Orchestral Version)
Sem Pisarahu - Vocals
Dick Van De Kamp - Guitar
Pim Wesselink - Guitar
Loet Brinkmans - Bass
Tom Van Ekershot - Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green