Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

44 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

The Psyke Project - Apnea (CD)

The Psyke Project
by Yiannis Dafopoulos at 27 June 2008, 11:18 AM

Why do I always have to get the same feeling when I lay my eyes upon a Lifeforce Records release? Probably because most of this label's releases suck! And why do I keep getting all of Lifeforce's releases? Probably because our kind publishing director will someday find a horse's head lying next to him while he is asleep.

The Danish metallers THE PSYKE PROJECT hail from Copenhagen, Denmark. Their story begins back in 2001, when five guys came together to form this band. The fact is that they don't mention who the fifth guy was. Anyway, having already released two more albums, the band signed with Lifeforce Records for the release of their latest full-length effort Apnea.

So, here's how it goes. Some guys meet and decide to form a band. What's next? They have to decide what kind of music they are going to play. They look at each Metal genre that exists and end up realizing that nothing is too 'cool' and 'modern' for them. What else could they do?

Call it Post Hardcore, call it Sludgecore… The fact is that this band is one more Metal act that tries to imitate the sound that bands like ISIS, KNUT and newer bands like THE OCEAN have established. I don't know if it is because of the high number such kind of releases that come out, but I really couldn't see anything amazing in this album. Harsh vocals, non standard tempo/riffing and many 'epic' melodies. Stuff that I have heard before.

It just that this kind of music was something different and unique a few years back and now more and more bands try to play this music. Has this scene lost its personality? No one knows for sure…

2 Star Rating

The Voice Of Commandment
I Get Paralyzed
Creating Landscapes
Physical Romance
Love Shown In A Handful Of Dirt
Poems Written By Kings
Not In My Time
Martin Nielskov - Vocals
Jeppe Skouv - Bass, Vocals
Mikkel Vadstrup - Guitar
Rasmus Sejersen - Drums
Record Label: Lifeforce Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green