Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

43 guests

Welcome to our newest member, leanne

Thomsen - Unbroken

by Luke Bravin at 23 October 2014, 10:47 AM

Oh boy, a German Heavy Metal band, I’m not sure why but German Metal always seems to impress, but today that thought that gets a little damaged, only a tiny bit. Why? Because the band, THOMSEN are kickass at what they do, but I felt the song writing needed some work. Apart from that, it’s a solid album and solid band. Their new album “Unbroken” aimed to impress with the legendary Udo Dirkschneider (ex-ACCEPT, current U.D.O vocalist) who appears on the track “We Made It” and let’s not forget Mathias Don Dieth (ex-U.D.O, ex-GRAVE STONE and ex-SINNER guitarist), Vinny Appice (ex-DIO and ex-BLACK SABBATH drummer) and David Vincent, the bassist from MORBID ANGEL who lent his bass skills to the band on the opening track “Draw the Curtains”, which, may I add, is a pounding Metal hymn I’d recommend listening to.

As far as the overall sound goes, the album is stuck somewhere between ACCEPT, GRAVE DIGGER and maybe GAMMA RAY. However, they have good songs, but not really outstanding songs, which are simple enriched by some well-known musicians, which isn’t exactly bad, but not really good either.

“Unbroken” is the 2nd THOMSEN album and is twelve songs long. Most of the songs have been written by founding member Rene Thomsen (I wonder where they got the name for the band) and guitarist of FAIR WARNING, Helge Engelke who also produced the album. There are some good tunes, and enjoyable tunes on this album but it’s missing something; originality, although it is a little difficult these days to be original.

To really get into this album, I recommend starting with tracks like “In Steel We Trust”, “Draw the Curtain” and the title track, “Unbroken”, and then the album has a good chance of winning you over.

3 Star Rating

1. Draw the Curtain
2. In Steel We Trust
3. New Horizon
4. Break the spell
5. Dream
6. Fools for Fortune
7. Into the Unknown
8. Unbroken
9. Six Thirteen 64
10.We Mmade It
11. One
12. Tears of the Sun (Live from the rehearsal stage)
Rene Thomsen – Guitars
Michael Pesin – Guitars
Robert Soeterboek – Vocals (Studio)
Denis Brosowski – Vocals (Studio & Live)
Max Dietzmann – Drums
Ingo Lühring – Bass
Record Label: Artist Station Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green