Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

53 guests

Welcome to our newest member, AlexBarnard

Threat Signal - Disconnect

Threat Signal
by Tina Webber at 09 November 2017, 2:33 AM

Ontario-born THREAT SIGNAL’s latest album “Disconnect” is the long awaited follow up to its previous album, “Threat Signal” released in 2011. THREAT SIGNAL is particularly known for its thrashing riffs combined with melody and core. Fans of FEAR FACTORY, IN FLAMES, KILLSWITCH ENGAGE AND SOILWORK will certainly appreciate the musical creations of THREAT SIGNAL.

“Disconnect” opens up with an extremely misleading track called, “Elimination Process.” At first, the song sounds like a lovely, attuned ballad, and then abruptly transitions into thrashy riffs and solos without notice.  THREAT SIGNAL is obviously not messing around after being missing in action for awhile. They need to come back with a vengeance. Following “Elimination Process” enters “Nostalgia,” which reminds me of songs by IN FLAMES and SOILWORK. It definitely gets your adrenaline going, but it is generic and bland. It is something I have heard before.

THREAT SIGNAL’s single, “Exit the Matrix” is a satisfying track. Lot of chugging, heavy, ominous, thrashy rhythms at first and then it alternates with a pleasurable melodic chorus. After this track is when the album starts to intrigue and pull the listener in. “Falling Apart” is a great head banger. “Aura” is more aligned with progressive melodies and high energy thrashy riffs that lead into a slower, depressing, gloomy abyss called “Betrayal.”

“To Thine Own Self Be True” is the winning contender for best track on “Disconnect.”  The track features many different elements that are perfected in such a way that makes this track the shining star.  In this track, there are elements of the complexities of thrash and technical metal combined with contemporary groove, atmospheric melodic harmonies. “To Thine Own Self Be True” is the prototype what this band can accomplish. My three-year-old daughter was dancing to it while I was listening to it.

“Dimensions” is another great track that features chugging guitar work, galloping melodies that invoke the energy in the listener. Finally, “Disconnect” closes strong with an epic 10-minute track called, “Terminal Madness.” This track is the kick-start the band needs after disappearing for awhile. It adopts progressive melodies, soaring solos, heavy breakdowns, and explosive thrashy riffs. The vocals have a nice range to them that exquisitely compliment the music.

Overall, “Disconnect” is a great rollercoaster that can be thoroughly enjoyed and what the band needed to get their feet wet again. However, I feel the band has a lot of potential to take their music a step further and create new and exciting masterpieces.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Memorability: 9
Production:  9

4 Star Rating

1. After The Battle
2. Let The Hate Reign
3. Hata Com Faca
4. Fear
5. Warlust
6. Bite Of The Viper
7. Half Truths
8. A Nice Day
9. Nuclear Warfare
10. Thrash To The Bone
Jon Howard - Vocals
Travis Montgomery - Guitars
Pat Kavanagh - Bass
Matt Perrin - Guitars
Record Label: Agonia Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 22 October 2021

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green