Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 32 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Threshold - March Of Progress

March Of Progress
by Jorge "The Zarto" Zamudio at 27 August 2012, 5:55 PM

Five long years, waiting for the return of this great band, waiting for another masterpiece and I have to say: They almost made it.

Is it also Damian Wilson’s return, triumphant? Maybe for some die-hard fans it is, but it’s nothing more than the THRESHOLD we have known all these years, even made me think, that this is just like “Dead Reckoning”, with a new old voice, and that is sad if you think it well, because for a band that plays progressive, it’s getting stuck in time.

This is an awesome album, it has the most characteristically melodies played with great effort and talent, as always with THRESHOLD, they are clearly one of the most talented guys around the Metal world, the guitars are catchy, but at the same time are experimental, with very good solos, acoustic moments and riffs, that if they may be easy to remember, they are not easy to play; the bass and the drums are spectacular, they maintain a main position in each and every track, giving the structure, and making the tracks go in different directions; they keys, well, for me, it’s the best instrument performed along the years in this band, giving atmospheres, taking breaths, and playing solos that are on the top of the industry, and I’m falling short of words.

The only “bad point” in this release: this album is not as good as it should be, after five years of waiting, and hard times passing through the band, that should have been a motive for more inspiration, not saying that they do not have any, but not the enough.

For the close: this is a very good album, not as good as the previous ones, but it is a good return as for the band as for Damian Wilson, that makes a great performance here. One last thing I have to say: Andrew "Mac" McDermott is very proud of you guys, he’s making the chorus in heavens.

4 Star Rating

1. Ashes
2. Return of the Thought Police
3. Staring at the Sun
4. Liberty Complacency Dependency
5. Colophon
6. The Hours
7. That's Why We Came
8. Don't Look Down
9. Coda
10. Rubicon                                         
Karl Groom -Guitars
Richard West -Keyboards
Damian Wilson -Vocals
Johanne James -Drums
Steve Anderson -Bass
Pete Morten -Guitars
Record Label: Nuclear Blast Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 29 November 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green