Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook



Not logged in

Users online

35 guests

Welcome to our newest member, mckennaslang

Thrombus – Mental Turmoil

Mental Turmoil
by Brian “Metal” Morton at 26 August 2018, 1:42 PM

Formed in 1991 in Eugene, Oregon THROMBUS released “Mental Turmoil” in 1993. Ahead of their time in the death metal scene, THROMBUS definitely could have been one of the greats. Sadly the band split up and nothing has been heard since. The band was pretty impressive from Mike brown on vocals and guitar as well as Isamu Sato on guitars, Karl Fowler on drums and vocals and Darren Baker on bass.

“From Beyond” is the first of six tracks and it lays out the mood for all of “Mental Turmoil”. It has a pure aggression that a lot of Old School Death Metal bands did not possess. It also has a fantastic guitar solo in it that pleasantly surprising. The second song is the self titled track “Mental Turmoil”. It keeps the grim and angry mood going and is a great addition to the album.

“Fetid Mass” starts off with a solo that's a bit slower but then kicks in full force. It is one of the best songs on the album by far. If you have ever wondered what a very old school NILE may have sounded like id say listen to this. “Structured” the fourth song is pretty simplistic in the beginning but becomes kinda thrashy. I have to say its a pretty damn good song especially closer to the end, the double kicker is sick as fuck.

“Embolic Infarction” is something I cant even begin to really describe. It is mixed with so many different influences but is truly amazing. It may have been one of the earliest Blackened Death Metal songs ever made, absolutely fan-fucking-tastic. “What a Waste” the final track on “Mental Turmoil” is the angriest and most pure Death Metal song on the album. Honestly a wonderful ending to a great album. I wish that THROMBUS had stuck around to make more albums. In any case I give this a big thumbs up.

Songwriting: 6
Memorability: 4
Originality: 5
Production: 4

2 Star Rating

1. From Beyond
2. Mental Turmoil
3. Fetid Mass
4. Structured
5. Embolic Infarction
6. What a Waste
Mike Brown – Guitars/Vocals
Isamu Sato – Guitars
Karl Fowler – Drums/Vocals
Darren Baker – Bass
Record Label: La Caverna Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green