Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Throne - Pestilent Dawn

Pestilent Dawn
by Daphne Minks Daly at 16 April 2021, 2:42 PM

Hailing from the Midwestern United States, blackened death metallists THRONE have recently released their second album, “Pestilent Dawn. Leaning in heavy to their black metal roots on this album, THRONE never relents, making for a most welcomed addition to any death metal fan's collection. From the brutal blast-beats to the shredding guitars, this album is some good down-tuned death metal all the way down to the grave-shaking growls.

"Amongst The Sinners, They Came Forth," the second song on “Pestilent Dawn, emphasizes the band's diversity and attention to detail. Although "Amongst The Sinners, They Came Forth," is a solid stand-alone, it's track four where THRONE really shows off their edge. "And They Shall Weep" is wrought with complexities, and in this reviewer's opinion, it's nothing less than utterly wicked. Giving the nod to early slam, it's an unquestionably intense song.

Throughout the whole album, THRONE successfully unites a plethora of diverse sub-genres into one cohesive entity. Nowhere is this more apparent than on the album's title track, "Pestilent Dawn." Sludge-infested grooves peek out from behind intensely mesmerizing drums and phenomenally sick vocals.

Another stand-out song on "Pestilent Dawn" is the eighth track of this ten-track album is the banger "Beyond Malice." A veritable homage to speed metal, this track is a hell ride into the darkness with plenty of twists and turns to keep the trip interesting. KOLLIN PERPIGNANI's drumming and NATHAN BARNES’ vocals are not only intense on this song but play off of one another well here. Closing out the album is the track "Humanity's Dusk," an erotic horror track that puts the perfect ending onto a good black death metal album. This one is worth a listen, for sure.

Songwriting:  7
Musicianship: 7
Memorability:  6
Production: 8

3 Star Rating

1.  Intro
2.  Amongst The Sinners, They Came Forth
3.  In The Midst Of Chaos
4.  And They Shall Weep
5.  Eternity In Mourning
6.  Pestilent Dawn
7.  Born Of Death
8.  Beyond Malice
9.  All Creation Wept
10. Humanity's Dusk
Leslie Drake - Bass
Kollin Perpignani - Drums
Nathan Barnes - Guitars, Vocals
Joseph - Guitars
Record Label: Redefining Darkness Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green