Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

37 guests

Welcome to our newest member, leanne

Tiebreaker - We Come from the Mountains

We Come from the Mountains
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 25 July 2016, 12:47 PM

TIEBREAKER is a Hard Rock band based out of Hordaland, Norway. “We Come from the Mountains” is the band’s first full-length album, and contains nine tracks. “Early Morning Love Affair” has a slow but sexy drum fill which leads into the main riff. The mood is light and airy for the most part, and there is a bluesy feeling in the song. The vocals are partially raspy and really key on emotive qualities. “Nicotine” is a faster paced song and the opening riff registers in an almost Punk Rock way. From there it’s fairly minimalist in terms of instrumentation and chorus. “Homebound” is a two part song, tracks three and right. The first part is really tender in nature, establishing the soft and prettier side of the album. For some reason it reminds me of the band BLIND MELLON. The second part is a little livelier but it remains a peaceful and hopeful song in terms of what appears to be a long awaited homecoming.

“The Getaway” swings with a funky rhythm and slightly reverbed vocals. Traditional keyboards like you would have heard in the 1970’s provide some background support to this sound. I get more of a BLACK CROWS vibe in this track, some Southern Rock. “Where can Love go Wrong” is more of a celebration of a relationship, rather than the mourning of one lost. It is positive and upbeat. “El Macho Supreme” struts with confidence, and the vocals stretch out into a higher range at times, making the song sound snarly, especially with the additional of some brief notes from a harmonica. “Walk Away” is the closing song and makes the final statement, clocking in at over six minutes. It’s a mid-tempo song that again has a Southern feel to it, like something you would listen to outside of your house on you porch, in the hot sun, with a dirt road running through the town. Overall I feel the honesty and emotion on the album for sure, but it failed to really register as something new or original.

Songwriting: 5
Originality: 5
Memorability: 5
Production: 6

2 Star Rating

1. Early Morning Love Affair
2. Nicotine
3. Homebound, Pt. 1
4. The Getaway
5. Where can Love go Wrong
6. El Macho Supreme
7. Trembling Son
8. Homebound, Pt. 2
9. Walk Away
Thomas Espeland Karlsen – Vocals
Eirik Wik Haug – Guitars
Olav Vikingstad – Guitars
Patrick Andersson – Bass
Pal Gunnar Dale – Drums
Record Label: Karisma Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green