Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Tomasz Piwecki – Dark Matter Award winner

Tomasz Piwecki
Dark Matter
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 01 April 2019, 4:51 AM

His fourth release, Tomasz Piwecki presents “Dark Matter,” which was released March 29, 2018. Primarily a guitarist, Tomasz has some guest writers on the album including Talita Summer, Rene Montt, and Michal Gawronski. The album contains nine tracks.

“Nebula” opens with an uplifting riff, complete with piano and a heavy, aggressive sound. His lead guitar work is spot-on, supporting the main sound, and with noticeable bass guitar notes as well. “Dark Matter” opens with subtle keys and then the main riff hits. It has an outer-world sound, with heavy accents existing together. They keys are quite alluring, and the entire song shows a sophistication not heard in most instrumental music. “Earth” opens with passive electric guitar notes that lead to a full and robust sound, as the rhythm guitars go into attack mode while the leads intermingle with piano in a dance that doesn’t want to end. “Moonlight” has a tender quality with some thoughtful leads that sit overtop a bed of heavy rhythms. Here, Tomasz lets the beauty out with some melody that shines brightly.

“Serum Vitae” opens tentatively, with a mid-tempo groove that will get the juices flowing, while the guitar parts are subdued, allowing this wonderful atmosphere to build. It wallows in the darkness, darting in and out of the light. “Eye of the Cyclone” opens with a fury that is held back, but you can hear it. He lets it out for short bursts but then it retreats into the darkness of the song, blending in like a serial killer in the streets of New York. “Path” features Talita Summer, a guitarist and songwriter from California, USA. It has a more subdued and mysterious sound, with saxophone taking center stage, and a blistering guitar solo coming from the shadows and ending up in unison with the sax at the end.

“Storm” features guest musician Rene Montt, a guitarist from Mexico. It opens with airy and ambient tones, but you can feel the cold winds of winter around the corner. When the main riff hits, it hits hard, but then retreats, in favor of more atmospheric sounds that favor the listener. The guitar solo is perfectly done, like a delicate spice that enhances your favorite dish. “Walls” closes the album, featuring Michal Gawronski. It opens slowly and cautiously, letting some ambiance build, with charming piano notes. When it reaches fruition, it’s not overwhelmingly strong, and surprisingly some vocals come into play. I have to admit being take off guard a bit by vocals; the music seems to work better as instrumentals.

Overall however, this was a fantastic ride. Once again, Tomasz has shown his skill in songwriting, by creating listenable songs and not filling in more ambient moments with overdone guitar pyrotechnics. It’s all about the atmosphere he creates. At times you feel more melancholy, while other times energized and ready to take on the world. The interpretations he has in his music are simply amazing.

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Memorability: 9
Production: 9

Purchase Link:

4 Star Rating

1. Nebula
2. Dark Matter
3. Earth
4. Moonlight
5. Serum Vitae
6. Eye of the Cyclone
7. Path
8. Storm
9. Walls
Tomasz Piweciki – Everything
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green