Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

43 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Touchstone - The City Sleeps

The City Sleeps
by Fede "FedeRock" Taich at 12 October 2011, 7:52 PM

TOUCHSTONE is a five piece Progressive Rock / Metal band from England. “The City Sleeps” is their third studio album and in my opinion third time is a winner. This band has said about their sound that they are “A band who combines the Progressive sensibilities of YES with the hard rocking aptitudes of VAN HALEN".In my opinion this is kind of right. Right from the first tune “Corridors” you can hear a Progressive vibe, the odd time signatures, abnormal harmonics textures and great out of the box drumming shows that these guys know what they’re doing.

The next step is Kim Seviour’s entrance. Even though she has a very gentle voice it fits right in the music and compliments her vocals. The thing I liked from the start is that even if the music is very complex, choruses are very catchy and poppy and fun to listen to even if you’re not a Progressive Metal fan or even a Metal fan in general. “Sleeping Giants” is a power ballad and we can hear a singing duet between Seviour and keyboard player Cottingham that sounds very good. This is a great song that can easily be on MTV.

The album has a very good flow and it’s easy and fun to listen to. The only thing that bothered me is that it’s sometimes sounds too poppy almost if they wanted to make a hit out of every song. Another thing is that in my opinion the guitar work is a little over shadowed by the great keyboard work and that’s a shame. Overall it’s a good album, not sure the typical Metal fan will love it but more open minded listeners and more Symphonic Rock / Metal oriented listeners will love this one. 

4 Star Rating

1. Corridors
2. When Shadows Fall
3. These Walls
4. Throw Them To The Sky
5. Sleeping Giants
6. Good Boy Psycho
7. Horizons
8. Half Moon Meadow
9. The City Sleeps
10. Corridors Epiphany
11. Throw Them To The Sky (radio Edit)
Kim Seviour- Lead vocals
Adam Hodgson- Guitar
Andre P Moorghen- Bass and Backing Vocals
Rob Cottingham- Keyboards , lead and backing vocals , drum programming, SFX
Henry William Rogers- Drums 
Record Label: SPV / Steamhammer Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 05 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green