Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

43 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

ToxicRose - Self-Titled Award winner

by Eldad "Blacknasa" Stainbook at 03 January 2013, 4:52 PM

These guys are from Sweden yes, yet another Glam Metal band from Sweden, formed by a member of GEMINI FIVE, a fact that created lots of expectations, after all I like  their “Stay with Me”album, mainly due to the guitar riffing. When it comes to this release I was surprised about the number of songs on the album, there are only 5 songs. Too damn short. However, let’s focus on the music.

The opening “A Song For The Weak” introduces the band’s style. It was stated in their promo paper that the releases consists of “Powerful vocals combined with aggressive guitars, grand melodic synths”, “A Song For The Weak” does exactly what the band pointed out; powerful and catchy riffing, commanding vocals that stretch the Glam style into the Power Metal and true Metal realms. “Set Me Free” keeps the same vibe of guitar and vocals, also didn’t say that about “A Song For The Weak”, however the chorus most of the times is delivered with two or three vocal channels, what provides ambient and melodic touch to the songs.

“Follow Me” uses strong keyboards all throughout the song, can’t say that I really liked it, however it would probably appeal to many people. “Black Bile” starts off with an futuristic atmosphere followed by a keyboards riff (somebody said EUROPE?) and in seconds changse into a beautiful guitar riffing, a great catchy rhythm and again an harmonic multiple vocals channels in the chorus, by far the best song of the release, well done.

In conclusion, really enjoyed the 5 songs release by TOXICROSE, great riffs, powerful vocals, melodic sound and very catchy chorus. All asserted this release as a mega hit. Shameful that it is a short, I predict a great future for these guys in the new wave Glam Metal world.

4 Star Rating

1. A Song For The Weak
2. Set Me Free
3. Follow Me
4. Black Bile
5. Fear Lingers On
Andy- Lead Vocals
Tom- Guitars & Backing Vocals
Goran- Bass & Backing Vocals
Michael- Drums & Backing Vocals
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 06 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green