Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

53 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Trioscapes - Digital Dream Sequence

Digital Dream Sequence
by Adam Clarke at 08 August 2014, 1:28 AM

Now this is a new one, I don’t even know what to class this as…But whatever it is, it’s amazing! It’s so complex and weird and enticing and…and…I think you can only get a true feel for the album if you listen to it alone in a dark room surrounded by nothing. It’s not so much as an album, but more of an experience, a common occurrence I find with instrumental albums, but I’ll attempt to put my experience into words.

One name you may recognise here is bassist Dan Briggs, well known for playing bass in the Progressive Metal band BETWEEN THE BURIED AND ME. Known for playing complex music to begin with, Dan seems quite at home whilst playing for TRIOSCAPES. The songs are thoroughly lead by the parts that Dan plays, whilst Walter and Matt provide parts that create a form of art that is rarely experienced. There are parts that are just down right hectic, and parts that could easily send you into a peaceful slumber. The ever so confusing timings are what make this album unique. It’s some sort of off beat Jazz formation, blended with aspects of Metal and all sorts of other genres. It’s really impossible to say what it is, but I loved it. My pure highlight of the album has to be about two minutes into “From Earth to the Moon”. You’ll see what I mean when I say the word relaxation to describe this short section of the record. I am just so impressed by how these three guys can show such great talent in a variety of ways, not just from a mechanical standpoint, but also from a writing perspective.

Seriously, if you’re looking for something new, check this out. Dan, Walter and Matt all show an incredible amount of talent on this album, take an hour or so out of your day to just sit back and enjoy what they have made.

4 Star Rating

1. Digital Dream Sequence
2. Stab Wounds
3. From Earth to the Moon
4. Hysteria
5. The Jungle
Dan Briggs – Bass
Walter Fancourt – Tenor Saxaphone, Flute
Matt Lynch – Drums, Electronics
Record Label: Metal Blade Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 03 February 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green