Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

22 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Turmion Kätilöt – Global Warning Award winner

Turmion Kätilöt
Global Warning
by Joseph Hausmann at 11 June 2020, 6:19 AM

Finnish Industrial Metal group TURMION KATILOT have released their latest album "Global Warning" through Nuclear Blast Records. This group has become well known in Finland for their aggressive and amped up electronic elements. "Global Warning" is no different with their heavy riffs and hooks blended with a heavy hand of Electronica. This rave-like feel mixed with Metal elements have given the world a glimpse of what the apocalypse will look like!

"Naitu" kicks off with heavy electronic elements that keep up an extremely fast tempo. This is throughout the entire album as they never let up on the gas pedal. This rave-like experience starts immediately and becomes a powerful wall of sound. "Kyntovuohi" breaks down into heavy riffs with an anthemic chanting that is rhythmic throughout the track. The guitars show off the insane riffs and exceptional craft and skills of the band. The electronic elements play a backseat role in this track, mostly used as instrumental support than the focal point of the track. That diversity gives this track and interesting sound and adds depth to the layers created. "Viha Ja Rakkaus" slows the pace down for just a bit to really expand on brighter but still melancholic melodies. The track then crashes into an eviscerating vocal verse before returning back to the heights of the melody. The chorus has good hooks that make the track a melodic rave-crazed ball of fun. "Syvissä Vesissä" returns us to the heavy hand of the electronic elements infused with bludgeoning distortion. When I listened to this song, it made me envision flashing party lights and exploding pyrotechnics. Words escape me on this one, but that's what I think of when I listen to this track. The tempo goes at a breakneck pace and drives the track for its length.

"Sano Kun Riittaa" has heavy hitting vocals and instrumentals. The pace of this track fluctuates back and forth giving that feeling of an ebb and flow style. The soft vocals in the beginning of the song add an interesting depth to the album. This is not something heard through the majority of it The faint reminder of that melody is like a ghostly presence throughout the track as you can only hear the fain echo of it through the chorus. "Syntisten Laulu" begins with crushing, bludgeoning riffs before giving way to a more melodic sound. The synth work is used primarily as orchestral sounds that then fall back into the depths of the eviscerating vocals. "Mosquito A La Carte (To Be Continued 5)" is by far the weirdest track on the album and that is saying a lot because this entire album is full of nothing but weird. When I say weird, I do mean that in a good way! This track incorporates all the electronic and industrial sounds but throws a salsa-like experience into the mix. Experimental doesn’t define this track adequately. It is in a whole different dimension of experimental sound.

If you're looking for something that will take you far from the norms of the Metal culture, then TURMION KATILOT is definitely for you. I mentioned at the beginning of this review that they are a glimpse of what the apocalypse would be like and I stand by that. It’s crazy, mind boggling, and somewhere between confused and frightening. The album is great all the way through even up to one of the most experimental songs that I have heard within the past decade. There are more tracks on this album and I would highly recommend you to step out of the norms and venture into the weird and crazy with "Global Warning."

Songwriting: 9
Musicianship: 9
Memorability: 9
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Naitu
2. Kyntovuohi
3. Sylkekaa Siihen
4. Viha Ja Rakkaus
5. Turvasana
6. Kuoleman Juuret
7. Syvissä Vesissä
8. Sano Kun Riittaa
9. Jumalauta
10. Revi Minut Auki
11. Syntisten Laulu
12. Ikava
13. Mosquito A La Carte (To Be Continued 5)
MC Raaka Pee – Vocals
Master Bates – Bass
B. Undertaker – Guitars
RunQ – Synth
Shag-U – Vocals
DQ – Drums
Record Label: Nuclear Blast Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 07 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green