Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

39 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Twitching Tongues - Gaining Purpose Through Passionate Hatred

Twitching Tongues
Gaining Purpose Through Passionate Hatred
by VR at 15 April 2018, 4:30 AM

Los Angeles based Hardcore band TWITCHING TONGUES was born in the year 2009. The outfit is the brainchild of brothers Colin Young and Taylor Young along with drummer Michael Cesario and Keith Paull. In 2010, the band released a demo which was well received and followed it up with a single called “I & I (Insane & Inhumane)” in 2011. Following which, they toured the US and embarked on their first European tour. “Sleep Therapy”, their debut album, was unleashed in 2012 and “In Love There Is No Law”, their second album, released in 2013. Their third album, released in 2015 and called “Disharmony” was received with critical acclaim. The band also managed to be signed up by the respected Metal Blade Records which is no mean feat. The band has changed from their original sound and has steered towards darker lyrics and has upped their aggression quotient. The band has toured with HATEBREED, DYING FETUS and CODE ORANGE to name a few and are geared up to tour in support of their latest offering.

The band gets into its stride fairly quickly although the first track “AWOL (State of the Union)” starts off with about 45 seconds of an acoustic guitar melody. Soon enough, the main riff hits and the song just erupts. The song has a Doom Metal quality about it and it’s a great introduction to the album. The second track “Harakiri” is a faster and heavier track. The Thrash Metal riff is a delight to listen to. Anguished vocals make the perfect foil to the track. The breakdown smack in the middle of the song serves its purpose but the heavy riff that follows invites some serious moshing. “Kill for You” is an odd ballad-y song that sounds like something that TYPE O NEGATIVE would have written. It’s a gloomy song with deep vocals that is as delightful as it is morose! You would be forgiven to think that “T.F.R” is a METALLICA song as it begins rather similarly to “Hit the Lights”. “The Sound of Pain” is an abrasive track that is as angry as it is brash. The song has a certain kinship with SLAYER and SUICIDAL TENDENCIES.

The band has managed to infuse the album with their varied influences. The vocal range is something that also stood out. Sean Martin, who also plays guitar in HATEBREED, is an integral part of this band. The songs are also diverse and, quite frankly, you have no clue what’s coming next! Each song has its own life and they contain several killer riffs. This album deserves a second listen before you can actually put your finger on it and completely comprehend the album. Although it does feel, at times, that the band is going through an identity crisis, it doesn’t take away the fact that the songs are well-written and memorable. This album is a definite recommend and with a runtime of less than 40 minutes, it is to the point and I found it an absolute delight.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Memorability: 8
Production: 7

4 Star Rating

1. AWOL (State of the Union)
2. Harakiri
3. Kill for You
4. T.F.R
5. Forgive and Remember
6. Gaining Purpose
7. Long Gone
8. The Sound of Pain
9. Defection (Union of the State)
Alec Faber - Bass
Taylor Young - Guitars, Vocals
Colin Young – Vocals
Cayle Sain - Drums
Sean Martin - Guitars
Record Label: Metal Blade Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 03 February 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green