Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

41 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Tygers of Pan Tang – A New Heartbeat

Tygers of Pan Tang
A New Heartbeat
by Alex Barnard at 26 February 2022, 11:27 PM

TYGERS OF PAN TANG is a legendary NWOBHM band from Whitley Bay. “A New Heartbeat” is the group’s eighth EP, released by Mighty Music on February 25, 2022.

This is a group that hardly needs an introduction. With former members including such mighty musicians as John Sykes of THIN LIZZY and WHITESNAKE fame, you know they’re doing something right. Of course, the band isn't really doing anything new musically here, but they don’t really need to. After all, they were one of the first bands to play in the fast, rough-around-the-edges style of NWOBHM that influenced groups like METALLICA and SLAYER during their early years; they have their own niche. Robb Weir (the only original member left) trades rocking riffs and hook-y solos with Francesco Marras like it’s nobody’s business but his. Gav Grey’s basslines are melodic and powerful, even providing the basis for the main riff of “Fireclown.” Craig Ellis’ drum grooves are simplistic yet effective, showing that you can rock out hard without having to be uber-technical. And finally, Jack Meille’s voice is a force to be reckoned with, showing hints of singers like Robert Plant and DIAMOND HEAD’s Sean Harris.

It’s hard to pick highlights from an EP so short, but each of the tracks offers something great. The title track has a classic, NWOBHM-styled chord progression mixed with driving riffs and brilliant guitar harmonies during the solos. “Red Mist” is a speedy, fun, almost DEEP PURPLE-esque romp that is predictable, but in a good way. And finally, “Killers” is a re-record off of the band’s debut album, and there isn't a more 80s sounding track on the EP than this one.

Overall, this is not a bad EP. TYGERS OF PAN TANG show that they can still do what they do best – classic NWOBHM. If there was one real criticism I would have for this EP, it's more of a reflection of what a lot of bands in this style are doing these days, which is re-recording old tracks. I get it, technology has changed since the first time you put out “Killers,” but why mess with the charm of the original? In a sense, to me, it also smacks of laziness. You’re putting four tracks here; you couldn’t write one more? Oh well, it’s neither here nor there. A good release from a classic band; nothing more, nothing less.

Production: 10
Songwriting: 8
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 7

4 Star Rating

1. A New Heartbeat
2. Red Mist
3. Fireclown
4. Killers
Robb Weir – guitar
Francesco Marras – guitar
Jack Meille – vocals
Gav Grey – bass
Craig Ellis – drums
Record Label: Mighty Music


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green