Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

47 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Tylor Dory Trio - Unsought Salvation Award winner

Tylor Dory Trio
Unsought Salvation
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 09 January 2020, 6:12 AM

Equally focused on musicianship and melody, TDT consists of Tylor Dory on guitar and lead vocals, Slava Fedossenko on bass and vocals, and Jonathan Webster on drums and vocals. Tylor Dory Trio is characterized by proficient musicianship, tight songwriting and powerful hooks. The debut album "Carried Away" was released in August 2015. Now they are back with “Unsought Salvation,” which contains ten new tracks.

“The Righteous and the Rest” leads off the album, with dreamy tones and spoken words, talking about how “life is difficult” and “we are all prisoners of our thoughts. The music kicks in with a positive energy and the vocals are as smooth as melted butter. The sound here is so bright and cheerful that it’s not hard to fall in love with it. “Comatose” is a little more Metal sounding, with heavy accents from guitars and drums to a dream sequence in the vocals. The guitar solo really adds to the experience here. They remind me of MOTHER OF MILLIONS in the way they deliver the music here in this track. Simply exquisite. The harsh vocals are unexpected but definitely add another layer to the music.

“The Fallen Man” opens with some eerie electronica, leading to some tense tones but are washed away when the vocals come in. That tight sequence after the second chorus shows the band’s sense of time manipulation and chops. “Dying Light” opens with clean guitars and a bit of a slower groove. I really like Slava’s bass in the mix here, and the vocal harmonies shine brightly. It takes a darker turn at some point and then comes together nicely in the chorus. The ending is a clean guitar passage dripping with melancholy tones. “The Space In Between” opens with heavy guitar accents and an odd meter that just works somehow. This song is heavy until the harmonic vocals again wash all away in the chorus. It alternates heavy and dreamy passages and again the bass is very pronounced in the mix.

“East of Eden” features some tense tones in the guitars in the verses, overtop silky smooth vocal harmonies. It comes alive as Tylor stretches out in the big chorus. He hits notes that are seemingly impossible here…soaring so high that glass would shatter. “Glass Menagerie” opens slowly and cautiously, letting the melody out in short bursts. It starts to pick up close to the half-way mark, with some darker tones. Then, the key changes and light comes back into the room. “Marionettes (of Distant Master)” opens with some heavy and aggressive elements leading to a darker sound, and some really strong clean vocals that work as well together as they do in harmony. This song definitely has some energy to it.

“Into the Maelstrom” opens with a depressive sequence…dashing your hopes with his whispered vocals. You begin to feel like giving up, like life has no meaning or purpose. “Cenotaph” closes the album, and it’s a whopper, at close to 14 minutes in length. It opens with a very positive sounding groove, pulling you up from the previous track. It pushes towards a big chorus rich with harmonic vocals. A darker passage make an appearance just before the half way mark, thick with guitar accents and harsh vocals. The piano and bass guitar sequence that follows is nicely done, sticking with the main melody line of the song. The constant yin and yang here is impressive. It ends in spoken words, urging the listener to form its own opinions, away from religious mantra.

What I like most about the album is the diversity the band displays on the tracks. At times, it very raging and angry, while dreamy smooth at other times. You also can’t not marvel at their musicianship…they are impeccable in the way they deliver their sound. But, they prefer to push melodies over mindless wanking and you will hear that in the album. It’s not a concept album per se, but there is a strong connection from song to song, and from the spoken words in the beginning and at the end. What a joyous and pleasurable ride this album was from start to finish.

Songwriting: 9
Musicianship: 10
Memorability: 9
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. The Righteous and the Rest
2. Comatose
3. The Fallen Man
4. Dying Light
5. The Spaces In Between
6. East of Eden
7. Glass Menagerie
8. Marionettes (of Distant Master)
9. Into the Maelstrom
10. Cenotaph
Tylor Dory – Vocals, Guitar, Synth
Slava Fedossenko – Bass, Backing Vocals
Jonathan Webster – Drums, Backing Vocals
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green