Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

61 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Tyrranicide - God Save the Scene

God Save the Scene
by Kyle Scott at 08 May 2018, 12:39 PM

Out of San Francisco’s legendary Bay Area Thrash scene back in the 80s, a lesser known band known as TYRRANICIDE dwelled on its outskirts. The hard rocking Punk Thrashers formed in Orwellian 1984 on Halloween, originally under the name MAYHEM before changing it for their first demo “Hiding Under White”. The band wasn’t entirely obscure, they got to tour with the likes of METALLICA, ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENT, and EXODUS. “God Save the Scene” is the only full-length release to their name. They released an EP in ’92 three years after, as well as a split Flexi 8” with LIQUID COURAGE (a band so damned to the annals of obscurity, there is next to no mention of their existence anywhere on the internet), but sadly TYRRANICIDE put down their guitars in 1993. Years later their debut has been given a spit shine and rereleased by Divebomb Records (subdivision of Tribunal Records). It’s a special deluxe reissue of 2 CDs with ten extra tracks and five demos!

The slow plodding “Hiding Under White” is merely a ploy to get your guard down. It breaks into sprints unpredictably so it’s best to be prepared. TYRRANICIDE has a DIY feel to their tracks, complete with Jeff Hill’s raw vocals (untainted even by the remastering) and that’s because they recorded, produced and mixed their debut on Hill’s own label Whirling Dervish Records for the reasonable price of $800 back in 1988. “Think for Yourself”, “Drink, Drive and Die”, and “Peer Pressure” give off MUNICIPAL WASTE vibes before MUNICIPAL WASTE was even a thing! Previously unreleased tracks like “Hard Like a Machine” and “His and Hearse” spew nasty rage in all directions with harsh, unclean riffs and violent lyrics, originally, they were intended to be a part of a sophomore release but they were relegated to being EPs. TYRRANICIDE plays nothing short of fast and angry with more than enough reason to believe the songs are designed to make you destroy your speakers from overenthusiastic headbanging.

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 7

4 Star Rating

1. Hiding Under White
2. Nails on the Chalkboard
3. Was It Worth It?
4. Think for Yourself
5. One That I Am
6. Facing Reality
7. Denial (Of Hate)
8. Drink, Drive and Die
9. Peer Pressure
10. Pull the Plug
11. Inner Peace
12. Holy War
13. By His Own Hand
14. Don’t Label Me
15. Hard Like A Machine
16. His and Hearse
17. University of Life
18. Inertia
19. Bite Your Tongue
20. Fool’s Gold
21. Kill the Messenger
22. No More Gore
23. Hiding Under White (demo)
24. Summoned to Die (demo)
25. Facing Reality (demo)
26. Epilogue (demo)
27. Cripple’s Revenge (demo)
Jeff Hill – Vocals and Guitar
Vincent Tyrone (Ty) Turner - Bass
Mike Serafin - Drums
Tim Narducci – Vocals and Guitar
Record Label: Divebomb Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green