Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

41 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

U.D.O – Navy Metal Night Award winner

Navy Metal Night
by Lotty Whittingham at 30 July 2015, 8:37 PM

Love them or hate them U.D.O have made a huge impact on the Metal music scene for the past few decades and continue to do so. For those who are new to the Metal community; U.D.O are a Heavy Metal quintet hailing from Germany founded by Udo Dirkschneider, one of Metal’s iconic vocalists. They are due to bring fourth their new live album tomorrow and I must say after listening to it back to back for the past few days it’s safe to say this CD made me wish I was there to experience this seemingly breathtaking event.

This event in question took place in February 2014 and it had sold out. U.D.O were accompanied by the German Navy orchestra, The Marinemusikkorps Nordsee; this orchestra along with the tight sound of the band made the evening incredibly grand and memorable.

Sometimes you do forget to turn off the shuffle function on your iPod so when you listen to a brand new release for the first time you wouldn’t know any differently if this was the correct running of the record. This was exactly what I did and I wondered why it didn’t flow smoothly at first. Luckily when I turned off shuffle the record was a silky course.

The album is an outstanding masterpiece from start to finish; I must admit I am still fairly new to U.D.O’s music and still getting to know that unique sound. The accompaniment from the navy orchestra intensifies U.D.O’s already grand sounding tracks such as “Man And Machine”, “Future Land” and “Days Of Hope And Glory”.

I wasn’t sure if it was the draft on the bus ride home but I felt sudden chills and goosebumps appeared on my arms as the live rendition of duet “Dancing With An Angel” played. For those who aren’t familiar with U.D.O’s sound this duet is normally performed with Doro Pesch, one of Heavy Metal’s leading and iconic vocalists, she performed it for this particular live performance for the live recording. If I’d have been there experiencing the live show I actually think I would have had tears streaming down my face from the sheer beauty of a harmonious gathering between two extremely talented individuals who have one common goal; the outcome being such an amazing one.

This album did contain some out of character moments where vocalist Udo Dirkschneider performed soley with the navy orchestra on the track “Cut Me Out” this was a solid demonstration of two polar opposites working together cordially to produce a fantastic result.

I am hoping from this glowing report I highly enjoyed this masterpiece and highly recommend it for die-hard fans of U.D.O or new listeners looking for something spectacular.

5 Star Rating

1. Intro (Das Boot)
2. Das Boot
3. Future Land
4. Independence Day
5. Animal Instinct
6. In The Hall Of The Mountain King
7. Heart Of Gold
8. Man And Machine
9. Dancing With An Angel (feat. Doro Pesch)
10. Faceless World
11. Ride
12. Days Of Hope And Glory
13. Cut Me Out
14. Trainride In Russia
15. Stillness In Time
16. King Of Mean
17. Book Of Faith
18. Animal House
Udo Dirkschneider – Vocals
Andrey Smirnov – Guitar
Kasperi Heikkinen – Guitar
Fitty Wienhold – Bass
Sven Dirkschneider – Drums 
Record Label: AFM Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 08 February 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green