Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 44 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Unborn Suffer - Nihilist

Unborn Suffer
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 29 June 2016, 2:37 PM

UNBORN SUFFER is a Brutal Death Metal/Grindcore band based out of Poland. Formed in 2001, the bad had previously released four full-length albums. “Nihilist” is their fifth, and contains seventeen scorching tracks with a total playing length of just over 27 minutes. When all the songs are between one and three minutes in length, you know you are listening to Grindcore. I have always said you can judge much of an album from the opening track and it is clear early on what you are listening to here with “Obscurity.” The instrumentation is slow and grinding, and the vocals are absolutely as guttural as they could possibly be, but are also augmented with clean parts and higher Death parts. As is common with the genre, the drumming is relentless. The cowbell strikes are interesting as well. “Tyler Durden” is just over a minute of pure unadulterated fury. It’s really hard to get your bearings as fists reign down on your head at the rate of 100 strikes per second.

“Life is a Lie” is a commentary of sorts on the state of religion and humankind. If they brutality of the track is any indication on how the author feels, we are in some serious trouble. “08.09.1968” brings a steadier pace and structure with the main riff, though the blast beat drumming continue to tear apart everything in its path. “Vain in Cage” pretty much confirms the unusual but ubiquitous presence of that cowbell. It almost registers as something totally opposite of the rest of the sound in the song, like it doesn’t belong. “Dance Like They Belong” has fiercely high Death Vocals and a carnival like riff that provides comic relief in a way. It’s an oddly way of summarizing the track. “Self Purification” is one of the longer songs on the album at half-way between two and three minutes. There is varied riffing and a combination of vocal approaches again. Here once more the brief spoken word passages are in relation to God and religion.

“L.A.W. (Lost All Worth) is a three minute song that continues the fast paced burning on the album and the ultra-deep vocals. The riff has interchanging rhythms and a heap of dissonance. Closing the album is “Nervous Breakdown of the System.” The key is based on the bass guitar here and a slower, grinding rhythm from the guitars, which are drop-tuned massively. Overall, I found the album to be right about what I expected based on the description. If you like Grindcore I would imagine this would be right up your alley, but I found it to be too unforgiving in terms of pushing boundaries.

Songwriting: 5
Originality: 6
Memorability: 5
Production: 6

3 Star Rating

1. Obscurity
2. Open Defiance
3. Tyler Durden
4. Life is a Lie
5. Exorted Humanity
6. Post Abortum Pt. 3
7. 08.09.1968
8. Vain in Cage
9. Hopebreaker
10. Dance Like They Want
11. Existence Dies
12. Destroy what Destroys us
13. Self Purification
14. Filthy Liars
15. Grind until I Die
16. L.A.W. (Lost All Worth)
17. Nervous Breakdown of the System
Damian “Sfenson” Bednarski – Guitars, Vocals
Lukasz “Lukass” Ziolowski – Drums
Piotr “DreadRock” Wisniewski – Bass, Vocals
Record Label: Selfmadegod Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 09 February 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green