Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

36 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Under The Church - Under The Church Award winner

Under The Church
Under The Church
by Calen Nesten at 01 July 2014, 10:02 AM

Under The Church is the creation of Erik Qvick and Lars Hendrickson of Swedish band Nirvana 2002. A slightly psychedelic sounding death-metal group that sprung up in 88 and only stopped touring in 2012. Under The Church released their first demo just a year later in 2013 and their self-titled album in 2014.

The album is a grotesque feast of raw death-metal. Intense, chaotic instrumentation infused with brief breakdowns and solos in classic metal style. There is, refreshingly, nothing deep about the lyrics except fantastic imagery of un-dead feasts on human flesh and the thoughts of hateful, ghoulish creatures.

Listening to the lyrics and reading the tracklist, Under The Church seems to me like a concept album involving a dark sorcerer bringing beings from beyond death and earth to terrorize humanity. The first track, “Denial Of Death” features an eerie intro with the guitar squealing in a shrill banshee shriek that blends into a story of a spirit being ritually risen from the dead.  The self-titled track “Under The Church” sounds like it is being told through the hungry mind of a resurrected corpse as it travels through the countryside hunting for flesh. “Back To The Grave” tells how the plan against humanity succeeded and the hell-spawn were banished back into the ground.

Of course, I could be reading way to far into what is simply a great death-metal album. The minds behind Under The Church have been supplying the world with brutal metal tracks since the late 80’s and don’t seem to be anywhere close to stopping.

5 Star Rating

1. Denial Of Death
2. Macabre Cadaver
3. Digging In The Dirt
4. Under The Church
5. Burning
6. Haunted By Demons
7. Back to The Grave
Lars Henriksson - Bass
Erik Qvick - Guitar, Drums
Mik Annetts - Vocals
Record Label: Pulverised Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green