Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

47 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Under Threat - The Prison Within Award winner

Under Threat
The Prison Within
by Tina Webber at 05 October 2017, 1:38 AM

UNDER THREAT’S latest album, “The Prison Within” is a fine piece of work.  It is Death Metal beautifully stroked with melody, aggressive guitar work, outstanding drumming, and precise bass lines. The entire album is fluid and the vocals compliment the music. All of the tracks were enjoyable. I was hooked from the start. I am trying to find something critique but I am having a hard time. I take that back, I did find something to critique– the best Swedish melodic death metal band is, in fact, from Columbia.

“The Prison Within” opens up with “A.I. Aftermath”. It is lined with astounding drumming with simple rhythms and chords. But it would appear that UNDER THREAT has the talent to take something simple and turn it into a brilliant masterpiece. Then it transitions to “A New Myth” and the energetic guitar work definitely gets your head banging. The lyrics reflect religious themes and the cover art is interesting, nonetheless.  It is the shape of a human brain made up of snakes. This imagery is reflected in the lyrics regarding religious and human nature. As I have said before, all of the tracks were great, but I personally enjoyed “A Marionette’s Lament,” and “Terror Management Theory.” It is melodic Death Metal at its finest.

“The Prison Within” ends with “Dawn of Reason.” It is an amazing instrumental track that invokes your all of your emotions. The acoustic guitar, drums, bass, are all cleanly attuned with one another and ends the album on a satisfied note.

Thank you for making such awesome music. I certainly appreciate it and so will many others. This album is a must have.

Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Memorability: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. A. I. Aftermath
2. A New Myth
3. The Delusionals (In the Name of the Faith)
4. A Marionette’s Lament
5. Terror Management Theory
6. The Climb of Sisyphus
7. Empire of Ashes
8. The Prison Within
9. The Existencialist
10. Dawn of Reason
Nicolas Bermudez - Guitars, Vocals
David Bermudez - Bass
Alejandro Rojas - Drums
Record Label: Hateworks Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 03 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green