Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

27 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Underjord - Sheol Award winner

by Charlotte "Lotty" Whittingham at 05 October 2014, 4:36 PM

If ORPHANED LAND and ROTTING CHRIST had a demon love child then Finland’s newest Atmospheric Experimental Doom Metal outfit UNDERJORD will be it. How did I come to this conclusion? Their debut album “Sheol” is the reason and I shall go on to explain why.

Over the past year Doom Metal has become a new favourite genre of mine with it’s complex yet incredibly powerful melodies; especially when they create a wonderfully haunting atmosphere wherever you appear to be. This record is so far one of my favourite albums I have listened to and reviewed for Metal Temple.

“Sheol” is a beautifully dark album that sounds like it was recorded in a cave, that echoed effect around the tracks only adds sheer magnificence to their incredibly unique sound. The opening track “Book Of Death” creates an evocative atmosphere with its what sounds like influences from the Middle East in the music. As the album progresses I start to imagine what they would bring to a live show and from the sounds of this striking album I can only imagine positive things.

Now if you have read my reviews in the past I usually pick a few tracks that I think stand our the best on the album and explain why; well in this case there is no favourite tracks as they are all as captivating and unique as each other. From start to finish I was completely blown away by the whole record.

Ending with one more Doom number “Dance Of The Death” only left me wanting more from these Finnish Metal heads.

So I am hoping you gathered from this glowing report that this album was truly fantastic; it has definitely entered my top albums of 2014 list. It’s out now so if you haven’t got it get it now!

5 Star Rating

1. Book Of The Dead
2. Erebus
3. Hunt Of The Death God
4. To Death I
5. To Death II
6. To Death III
7. Sheol
8. Dance Of The Death
Jonas Frilund – Bass
Markus Rosenberg – Drums
Niklas Norrgrann – Guitars
Joakim Finholm – Keyboards
Thomp Finholm – Vocals
Record Label: Massacre Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 09 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green