Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

26 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Une Misère – Sermon

Une Misère
by Jack Lynch at 26 November 2019, 10:59 PM

UNE MISÈRE’s debut album “Sermon” emits high levels of radiation that cools the skin rather than burns. While there’s an exhilarating heaviness here that’s deafening, there’s also a level of somberness that feels very real. One-part Modern Metal, one-part Groove, and three parts Hardcore, “Sermon” is raw, but cruises with a surprising, if not refreshing amount of energy.

If the blood spitting vocals of 36 CRAZYFISTS were any indication of what life is like in Alaska, lead vocalist - Jón Már Ásbjörnsson – is here to give you a brutal taste of Iceland. With track names such as “Beaten”, “Grave”, “Failure”, and “Burdened”,Sermon” is an inward battle that makes it way to the surface. For each violent breakdown, there is an equal level of intensity pushed through the pours, as if the band is trying to out due their anger frustration. This all fuses together beautifully on the album closer, “Voiceless”, which hits with resounding power.  The result is an album packed full of honesty and dynamism that feels unique to the band.

“Sermon” feels fresh for the most part, but with 12 tracks of unrelenting brutality there is bound to be some songs that stick out over others. Shorter offerings such as “Spiral” and “Grave” come and go without a second thought, and act as chaotic breakdown filler after the chaotic breakdowns of longer songs. It all feels a bit underwhelming. Little atmospheric breaks in the action such ‘Offering” are put to better use.

Ultimately though, the guys in UNE MISÈRE have crafted something special for a debut release. “Sermon” hits raw honesty that never lets up. Underneath its rough surface is a mind at work, churning with questions of guilt and purpose. What breaks you down is ultimately what lifts you up, and “Sermon” does that is spades.

Songwriting: 8
Muscianship: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Sin & Guilt
2. Sermon
3. Overlooked – Disregarded
4. Burdened – Suffering
5. Fallen Eyes
6. Beaten
7. Grave
8. Failures
9. Damages
10. Offering
11. Spiral
12. Voiceless
Jón Már Ásbjörnsson -  Vocals
Gunnar Ingi Jones -  Guitar
Fannar Már Oddsson - Guitar & Vocals
Þorsteinn Gunnar Friðriksson - Bass Guitar
Benjamín Bent Árnason - Drums
Record Label: Nuclear Blast Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green