Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

40 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Unearth - Darkness In The Light

Darkness In The Light
by Nikos Makropoulos at 06 July 2011, 9:27 PM

When I was told I was going to review Unearth’s new album I was very excited for what I was going to listen to. My anticipation became fear and cold sweat when I saw who was the producer of that album. Let me get this straight and clear and always fair, Unearth are one my favorite American metal bands, I always liked their songs and also Adam Dutkiewicz is a very talented and skilled guitar player and producer, but it seems that his productions are so similar in the final sound, using same patterns and motives.

Unfortunately, for our own good this situation does not exist here, at least not in its whole entity. The new Unearth album is full of energy, well played parts and riffs, fulfilling the standards and the patterns they set at the beginning of their career, but less aggressive in most of their songs, a fact that will disappoint their old fans.

From the first notes of "Watch It Burn", you’re dealing with the traditional Unearth style; great riffs, killer chorus and their trademark beat down parts, perfect for endless moshing.

"Ruination Of The Lost" and "Shadows In The Light", could easily fit in a Killswitch Engage album (their last ones). The rest of the songs are quite typical for the average Unearth fan without something important to notice about.

Frankly the new Unearth album is not what I was hoping to be. I kinda got bored from the continuing melodies, reminding me the last days of Killswitch Engage, full of emo-like clean vocals. The old fans will be very disappointed, as for those not familiar with Unearth, it’s a good start but not the best one!

Nevertheless the choice is yours

2 Star Rating

01. Watch It Burn
02. Ruination of the Lost
03. Shadows in the Light
04. Eyes Of Black
05. Last Wish
06. Arise The War Cry
07. Equinox
08. Coming Of The Dark
09. The Fallen
10. Overcome
11. Disillusion
Trevor Phipps – Vocals
Ken Susi – Guitars
Buz McGrath – Guitars
John Maggard – Bass
Justin Foley – Studio Drums
Record Label: Metal Blade Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green