Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

MetalDaveCampbell, 45 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Valgrind - Seal Of Phobos Award winner

Seal Of Phobos
by JOGANEGAR at 06 June 2017, 10:23 AM

VALGRIND is a Death Metal band from Modena Italy who have released two full length albums in 2012 and 2016, and have released a five song EP for this 2017 as a follow up; They are named after the main entrance to Valhalla in Norse mythology, and although sharing their name with some other European acts, the uniqueness portrayed in this work emerges as a pleasant offspring of the Death Metal womb that continues to pop outstanding bands from the most unusual parts of the world. The fact that every single track has a different vocal approach as stated by Daniele Lupidi, the founder and main driving force behind the Italian Death Metal act,  himself,  sets a high standard for the quality of this creative work that I just hope can be turned into a full length album for next year. Talented performers and songwriters, VALGRIND can depict the voyages between different realms of existence by the force created in accordance to the union of the different concepts and elements that make this EP a force to be reckoned with; specially with all the guitar work and the way it is arranged, captures the attention of the metal head psyche from the very first riff.

An uproar of emotions that transcends itself by this tireless efforts of the members of VALGRIND to achieve uniqueness and individuality as a whole, since there is no place for individuality in a band such as this, a true example of how fortune favors the bold and in this case the creative and brave attempt of this band as carriers of the Death Metal flame across the European continent. “Ekphora’s Day” resumes this band’s talent for setting the ground for their next full length album, the end of this track literally froze my blood, as it is something that seems to be out of the soundtrack of an avant-garde terror movie, the amazing contrast it creates with the song itself as a whole and as the closure for this EP is worthy of remembering; great songwriting and production for this Italian Death Metal warriors, an honor to be part of their allegiance to the Metal Temple.

Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Memorability: 9
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. The Endless Circle
2. New Born Deceit
3. Prelude to Downfall (Interlude)
4. Traitors will Bleed
5. Ekphora’s Day
Daniele Lupidi – Vocals/Bass
Massimiliano Elia – Lead and Rhythm Guitars/Keyboards
Umberto Poncina – Lead and Rhythm Guitars/Keyboards
Gianmarco Agosti – Drums
Record Label: Everlasting Spew Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green