Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

41 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Vallenfyre - For Those Who Fear Him Award winner

For Those Who Fear Him
by Craig "Thrasing" Rider at 02 July 2017, 1:25 PM

Metal maniacs, rejoice! The Thrasher returns to present to you: VALLENFYRE; signed via Century Media Records, hailing from England - performing Death Metal/Doom Metal, on their 3rd album entitled: “Fear Those Who Fear Him” (released June 2nd, 2017).

Since formation in 2010; the quintet in question have 2 albums behind them, I'm introduced to their 3rd deliverance entitled: “Fear Those Who Fear Him”. 12 tracks ranging at around 39:00 exactly, the quartet provide a solid slab of hard-hitting Death/Doom Metal equalities. “Born To Decay” opens up the album; constructively delivering a powerful formula of destructive and vehement instrumentation one could ask for, the musicianship implements the fiercest and utmost morbid songwriting that develops an organic and groovy aesthetic that's distinctively rewarding as well as stimulating. “Messiah” diligently works to an adapt contrast; full of immense riffs, deadly vocals and crushing drums that will most certainly guarantee to get your brutal fix. “Degeneration” is where things get steadily momentous, as the production gets more savage in tone and chaotic as the record advances. The quartet consists of Hamish Hamilton Glencross on guitar/bass; quite the unprecedented union? …well the multi-tasker consistently provides a persistent amount of riffs that balance between complex, and rigorously full of dexterity. So far, I'm having a literal blast with his ability to compile a dexterous amount of adroit savagery - any incontinent listener would be hard-pressed with an extreme training regime, losing a good few pounds in the process while slamming to this one.

An Apathetic Grave” showcases a malevolent embodiment; reckoning with a tormenting experience that's full of swift outbursts of screeching malice and insanity, there is an obvious contrast of Death n' Doom atmosphere with this one. Gregor Mackintosh performs a complex array of grunting growls that's efficiently strong in substance, “Nihilist” is a short 1:56 speedy thrasher from the previous exert - as the vocalist constructs insanely adapt, galloping leads with this one. Until the groovy “Amongst The Filth” emerges, Waltteri Väyrynen on drums slams down his sticks with brute force - you can easily hear his agile vehemence as he proficiently engages with fine divinity. “Kill All Your Masters” is another short endeavour, that rapidly upscales things to an immense rate - there are some slight hardcore elements in the sound production I couldn't help but notice, which promptly excels with fierce execution.

The Merciless Tide” begins with an intense snarl while generating some mid-tempo dominance that has a devastating effect, even though it's slowed down the song conjures up a deadly tone while forming an excellent BEHEMOTH influence - by a small margin however. “Dead World Breathes” is a :40s solo, until the “Soldier Of Christ” exhumes a sinister amount of blinding supremacy.
There is a lot of diverse variety in “Fear Those Who Fear Him”, you can sense the manifestation of sub-sequential sub-genres that are ingeniously imbalanced. For instance; “Curse From The Womb” has a joint Black Metal structure while implementing Death Metal vocals and a Doom Metal emanation. The overall record is a succulent piece of relentless ascendancy in extreme Metal. “Temple Of Rats” terminates the record, and my final impressions shine with higher expectations - surprisingly. VALLENFYRE devote themselves to delivering a sufficient amount of meticulous content that is ultimately accurate to the devised sub-genres at will. Even the “filler” segments are very invigorating, even at a mere 40 minutes - there is a lot to jam to. The band prove that they are the provider to filth and grime, if you're looking for an unparalleled slice of sludgy devilment…then look no further.

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Memorability: 9
Sound Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Born To Decay
2. Messiah
3. Degeneration
4. An Apathetic Grave
5. Nihilist
6. Amongst The Filth
7. Kill All Your Masters
8. The Merciless Tide
9. Dead World Breathes
10. Soldier Of Christ
11. Cursed From The Womb
12. Temple Of Rats
Hamish Hamilton Glencross - Guitar/Bass
Gregor Mackintosh - Vocals/Guitars
Waltteri Väyrynen - Drums
Record Label: Century Media Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green