Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

62 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Vamp - The Rich Don't Rock (Reissue) Award winner

The Rich Don't Rock (Reissue)
by Tomer "Tommy-Foxx" Darmon at 18 February 2013, 11:50 AM

For me, Germany has been one of Metal's temples. Throughout the years there has been a considerable impact from German Metal that affected the genre in many ways. I will split the German Heavy Metal style into two groups: First, the roughness of bands such as ACCEPT, WARLOCK, GRAVE DIGGER and second, softer, more Hard Rock oriented, Heavy Metal bands such as SCORPIONS,BONFIRE.

VAMP has been in the middle right from the start, they combined both. There is 80's Glam Metal but something in their attitude showed otherwise, dealing with an uncompromised band, a band that knows how to bring it up with balls. "The Rich Don't Rock" was originally released in 1989. This reissue contains a deluxe edition featuring 15 remastered songs which have never been released to date, 8 songs that were supposed to be on their album unreleased album "One Smack Killer" and 7 songs under a 1986 demo named "Roxx". The new remastered release gives us a nice journey into the VAMP's world which includes addictive choruses; hook laden guitars and a kick ass ballsy singing by vocalist Tom Bellini.

The guitar work on the album moves from shred guitar to Bluesy sparkles which make it unique from other guitar players that you probably heard. I can't pick any lame song around as each song is a killer. Just to name a few blowing songs: "All Nite", "Love Games", "Lonely Nights" and one of the greatest songs on the album – "Shout". VAMP knows how to build a tension along with a good melody that over time develops to a stronger chorus; you will be listening to it through the first track that opens the second CD, "Little Bit".

What is so nice about VAMP is that they are very versatile, sometimes they got that awesome Blues that will reminds you of AC/DC like with "Dead In The Backseat" and sometimes it will remind you of KEEL with the track "The Big Mess" but it always will have the remarkableness of VAMP. Along with the ballsy songs there is a great ballad "I Don't Know" that could easily be one of BONFIRE acoustic songs, quite tragic and gloomy.

With songs like "What About Love" there is that great Glam taste, heavier verses and sticky choruses that became one with my memory banks for a couple of days. Along with the Glamnation, I really like "Down And Dirty" which has a powerful chorus and "Don't Bite" that delivers the Heavy Metal out of VAMP's Glamish features.

This album is a masterpiece, like I said before each song is a killer. If you're looking for a real Heavy / Glam Metal band that will shake your soul - VAMP is the right band for you.

4 Star Rating

Disc One: The Rich Don't Rock
1. Heartbreak, Heartache
2. Like I want
3. The Rich Don't Rock
4. Love Game
5. Renegade
6. All Nite
7. Lonely Nights
8. Stand By Me
9. Bleeding
10. Talk Is Cheap
11. Shout
12. Why
13. The Rich Don't Rock (EP version)
14.Why (EP Version)
15. Shout (EP Version)

Disc Two: One Smack Killer / The Rick Don't Rock Demos
1. Little Bit
2. Love Staved Woman
3. Dead In The Backseat
4. Junkyard D.O.G (Dirty Old Geezer)
5. One Smack Killer
6. Gimme Some Lovin'
7. I don't Know
8. The Big Mess
9. Lonely Nights
10. What About Love
11. Down And Dirty
12. Waste Of Time
13. Love Games
14. Don't Bite
15. Talk Is Cheap
Tom Bellini - Vocals
Ricolf Cross - Guitar
Olli Scholz - Bass
Dicki Fliszar – Drums
Record Label: Divebomb Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green