Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Vangough - Kingdom of Ruin Award winner

Kingdom of Ruin
by Vagelis "Vagelan" Tiflopoulos at 19 April 2012, 1:25 PM

Vincent Van Gogh was a Dutchpost-Impressionist painter whose work, notable for its rough beauty, emotional honesty, and bold color, had a far-reaching influence on 20th-century art. VANGOUGH area band fromOklahoma City which is trying, with their third full length creation “Kingdom Of Ruin”,to fulfill our mind with their music canvas, painting it with notes, emotions, feelings and everything enable to impress us.

I had already listened this album many times before this review but it was even very difficult to me to understand it. It’s the same feeling as you stand in front of a painting of Picasso or Van Gogh admiring what you see but you cannot understand it completely. It is always a mysterious beauty for you… I listened the “Kingdom of Ruin” silently and with respect. It was a marvelous trip of Progressive Metal, Rock, Jazz, and Folk unique music. The mark of a good progressive album is the ability to maintain a balance of the comfortably familiar and the excitingly unexpected, and VANGOUGH brings both to the table with “Kingdom of Ruin”. Guitars, pianos, drums, cymbals, basses, flutes soft melodies, heavy riffs a velvety voice with a brutally cover came to a music party of my ears. It would be awful to pick any track of this album as a mother try to choose among her children.

VANGOUGH is a band from the past and future, an inspired quartet mind that works excellent as a whole. There is no place for DREAM THEATER or PAIN OF SALVATION here but only for their star.

4 Star Rating

1. Disloyal
2. Choke Faint Drown
3. Abandon Me
4. Drained
5. Kingdom Of Ruin
6. Frailty
7. The Transformation
8. The Rabbit Kingdom
9. Stay
10. Sounds Of Wonder
11. A Father's Love
12. Requiem For A Fallen King
13. An Empire Shattered
14. Alice
15. The Garden Time Forgot
Clay Withrow - vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards
Brandon Lopez - drums
Corey Mast - keyboards
Jeren Martin - bass
Record Label: Nightmare Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green