Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

Heschaq4w, MetalDaveCampbell, 44 guests

Welcome to our newest member, Heschaq4w

Viana - Viana

by Stew Metallion Taylor at 15 August 2017, 11:32 AM

“Viana” is the debut album from Italian guitarist Stefano Viana. The rest of the band is made up of guest musicians from the Italian AOR/Melodic Rock scene. Alessandro Del Vecchio on vocals, Francesco Marras on guitar, Anna Portalupi on bass and Alessandro Mori on drums (well-known for their collaboration with artists such as Hardline, Tarja, Ted Poley and John Macaluso), Gabriele Gozzi (RHYME, SKILL IN VEINS, KILLER KLOWN) on backing vocals and Pasquale India on keyboards.

Stafano Viana started out learning guitar at sixteen with Randy Rhoades as his axe hero. A feature of the Italian Melodic Rock scene, two self-produced without finding a record deal. Since 1996 Stefano has teamed up with friend Alessandro Del Vecchio at various points. In fact, this album was started way back in 2009 with Alessandro providing lyrics and collaboration on the songwriting. Some family issues got in the way for Stefano with this debut album, but  VIANA finally released it in 2017 on Street Symphonies Records. So, you could say persistance and talent has finally paid off with the release of this record.

It is rather good too. Quality AOR/ Melodic Rock which never drops in to any overly melodic moments. By that, I mean this is a guitar driven album as opposed to some AOR/ Melodic Rock releases where the keyboards take over or are too prominent.  The songwriting is strong and the guitar playing is on-song throughout. Opening tracks  “Straight Between Our Hearts” and  “Bad Signs” are rocking melodic tunes and demonstrate the quality of the guitars and vocals.  The more rocking songs are all quite similar which maybe the only slight complaint but the quality control of the playing and singing is at a good consisitent level. The album has good production too. Everything sounds spot on across the band members. There are three ballad style songs. Two Power ballads “Feel You Tonight” and “Follow the Dawn” and final track “This Place Is Yours”, which is more of an acoustic Country Rock style number.

The final track really shows off the quality of Alessandro Del Vecchio’s voice. Stefano Viana is great throughout the album too.  Maybe these guys could get together as a fully established line-up and release more music after this promising debut.

Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Memorability: 6
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1. Straight Between Our Hearts
2. Bad Signs
3. Feel Your Love Tonight
4. Night Of Fire
5. Follow The Dawn
6. A New Love
7. Living A Lie
8. Just To Sing
9. Open Road
10. That Place Is You
Stefano Viana - Guitars
Alessandro Del Vecchio - Lead Vocals
Francesco Marras - Guitars
Anna Portalupi - Bass
Alessandro Mori - Drums
Gabriele Gozzi - Backing Vocals
Pasquale India - Keyboards
Record Label: Street Symphonies Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green