Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

34 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Violent Eve - Exile

Violent Eve
by Angela "The Hunter" at 13 May 2013, 8:31 PM

VIOLENT EVE’s second release, "Exile", is an interesting mix of “damn that is awesome” and “wait, what the hell was that?”. Born in the midst of Madrid, Spain, the band has concocted a sound that is part Doom, part Thrash, and part not-too-sure. It’s not a bad mix, and you got to give it to the guys for their creativity, it’s just there is some refining that needs to be done.

The "Intro" is a great start to a musically diverse album. The guitar work throughout this release is really good. Solid, pounding rhythm work is rounded out with some great solos, and a few bluesy instrumentals. "Forgiveness" and "Intro" are great tracks to get a feel for it. The vocals are really my only issue. Sometimes you get some great growls and guttural work but it’s rather inconsistent. "Mind Detonation" starts off great, and then flows into some nearly clean vocals which are good but caused me to cringe at the chorus. Vocals, pitch and rhythm change don’t match up to keep the energy of the song flowing. Same with "Consumed", and to a lesser extent "Of Flesh And Bone". Now when you hit "Exile" and "Bloodlust", the vocals flow great and stay strong throughout the song. Edu Brenes’s drum work is quite good, and really stand apart on this album. Bass work seems to get lost, on occasion, amongst the other guitars, which sucks because what you can hear is good. Not a bad release, but there is room for improvement.

The band does have a good thing going and although I have heard better, I certainly have heard worse. For a rating I would give it 7 out of 10. As always, stay well, and live free my friends!

3 Star Rating

1. Intro
2. Mind Detonation
3. Consumed
4. The Nexus
5. Exile
6. The Darkest Day Ever
7. Bloodlust
8. Of Flesh And Bone
9. Walking To Nowhere
10. Forgiveness
11. Lost Through The Universe
J. Jurado - Vocals
David Ramos - Guitars
Diego López - Guitars
Dani Fernandez - Bass
Edu Brenes - Drums
Record Label: Noisehead Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 31 January 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green