Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

40 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Voidscape – Odyssey of Spite

Odyssey of Spite
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 09 May 2023, 5:39 AM

VOIDSCAPE is a Melodic Death Metal band from Clifton, NJ, USA. Formed in 2017, this is the band’s debut EP, and it has five songs. “Grief Eclipse” is the first. The song is pretty thick with many different elements and the vocals are harsh and deadly. There is also a good deal of melody, and this makes three things that define the genre. The bass and guitar work are especially good here. “Burden of Breathing” is darker and more aggressive. The guitars go low in the verses but the chorus lets melody shine. There is a good deal of dissonance in the song as well.

“Ludlow” is an unexpected short, two-minutes of smooth, clean guitars, and a little melancholy to begin your day. I like the way the bass guitar notes roll…they really augment the sound. “Extinctionborn” is a slower and more deliberate grind, with a heavy bottom end. But again, there is a nice display of melody to go along with it, though it does sound a bit jaded. The contrast between these two styles is exactly what Melodic Death Metal is all about. “The Unsaved” closes the album…another shorter song. The vocals are especially nasty, and they snarl and spit at you. The music is also dark and heavy…it’s the kind of nightmare that you don’t want to relive anytime soon.

Overall, I enjoyed the album. Some bands in the genre are better at the death side than the melodic side, and that is what I have found mainly with newer bands trying to throw their hat into the ring. But VOIDSCAPE have a really nice balance between the two. They also have a strong vocalist, solid mid-section, and some lasting melodies. I wish there were more songs to listen to, but for a debut EP, all this band can do is go up from here, and they have the ingredients to make a mark in the industry.

Songwriting: 7
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 6
Production: 8

3 Star Rating

1. Grief Eclipse
2. Burden of Breathing
3. Ludlow
4. Extinctionborn
5. The Unsaved
Rob Torres – Guitars & Bass
Mike Ximenez – Vocals
Justin Spaeth – Drums
Record Label: Nefarious Industrires


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green