Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

34 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Voivod - Dimension Hatröss Award winner

Dimension Hatröss
by Marcos "Big Daddy" Garcia at 26 May 2017, 2:49 PM

The greater difference between the bands of the 80s and those clones that try to emulate their work is that the clones say that they don’t want to do anything new at all. The bands of the 80’s would say “we will do something different”, because they knew that the key to become famous is to sound different, to have a personal musical style. In these terms, VOIVOD was a pure breed group, because even after three legendary albums, they showed a new face on “Dimension Hatröss”, their fourth album of 1989.

Technically intricate, ambitious and going into a more Progressive way, and getting far from that Thrash Metal form from their earlier albums, the band is really creative, because the aggressiveness still appears on the album, but the vocals are cleaner, the guitars as well (and with fine technique, because they started to show excellent and refined arrangements), and bass guitar and drums area heavier and using advanced technique. Of course, the die-hard fans from the previous albums went away, but the band got more fans with this new outfit. Being honest, it’s truly great once more.

Once more, Harris Johns produced, mixed and made engineering of the album. You’ll see that the sound is cleaner than before, but the aggressiveness was not forgotten. Yes, they still show a strong and aggressive musical work, but with a more refined technique. As always, the cover and the artwork was done by Away. Maybe the greater problem of “Dimension Hatröss” was only one: the album is far beyond its time. I can say with all conviction that VOIVOD is the precursor for bands of Progressive Metal, and so on. But the band holds its musical aggressiveness, as you can hear due the distorted bass guitar and some nasty guitar riffs.

Songs as the excellent “Experiment” with its abusive broken tempos, the tribal and heavy Progressive elements of “Tribal Convictions” (and what excellent bass guitar and drums works), the good technique shown on “Chaosmongers” (what lovely guitar parts), the mix between their earlier musical style with Progressive insight shown on “Technocratic Manipulators” (again the guitars are ruling supreme), the fine vocals that we can hear on “Brain Scan”, The Progressive Punk scent of “Psychic Vacuum”, and the comic version for the theme series of “Batman” are the greater songs of the album. The second disc has the live presentation of the quartet on “Spectrum '88 - A Flawless Structure?”, and it was recorded in Montreal, on December 21st 1988.

Here, the band shows their heavy grasp on live shows, with tons of energy. And songs as “Overreaction”, “Experiment”, “Tribal Convictions”, “Ravenous Medicine”, “Korgüll the Exterminator”, “War and Pain Medley”, “Brain Scan” and “Psychic Vacuum” are fine proofs of a band that sound great on live shows as it is on studio albums. But as well, their version for DEAD KENNEDYS’ “Holiday in Cambodia” and the ending theme of the show, “Batman”, are great as well.

Maybe it’s time for old fans to hear “Dimension Hatröss”, and have a better and clean idea of what this album stands for. If you don’t get the idea, it’s better to undergo surgery on your ears, or brains…

Originality: 10
Songwriting: 10
Memorability: 9
Production: 9

5 Star Rating

1. Experiment
2. Tribal Convictions
3. Chaosmongers
4. Technocratic Manipulators
5. Macrosolutions to Megaproblems
6. Brain Scan
7. Psychic Vacuum
8. Cosmic Drama
9. Batman
10. Overreaction
11. Experiment
12. Tribal Convictions
13. Chaosmongers
14. Ravenous Medicine
15. Korgüll the Exterminator
16. Technocratic Manipulators
17. Macrosolutions to Megaproblems
18. War and Pain Medley (I. Nuclear War, II. War and Pain, III. Warriors of Ice, IV. Voivod)
19. Brain Scan
20. Psychic Vacuum
21. Order of the Blackguards
22. Holiday in Cambodia
23. Batman
Snake - Vocals
Piggy - Guitars
Blacky - Bass
Away - Drums
Record Label: Noise Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green